The Forks Eloped With The Socks!

. at . 8 comments

What a shock. Have you heard?
This elopement is so absurd.
The forks declared their undying love
To the socks who lived above.
Eating veggies with a spoon is lame
As my ill-clad feet hide in shame.

I wouldn’t have minded a few forks and pairs of socks going astray.

But ALL* of them.

Who has ever heard of missing forks?

Spoons, knives, and those treacherous socks – YES.

But the forks?
They are normally so well behaved.

I finally decided to do something about the fork situation.

Tonight I found 8 (mismatched) silvery forks with shiny tines

and a purple swirled mug for $1.25 at the thrift store.

I’m still waiting for the socks to come home.

I know.

I’m an optimist.

 

 

* Okay. Not all of them. Out of a service of 12 forks, I can only find 4.

Out of all my socks, maybe two have sole mates.

 

Can anybody relate? Anybody?

Entry filed under: Main, Susan's World.

Finding Obadiah and Philemon Easily 30 Days of Nothing Happens in September

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dani  |  . at .

    LOL! I can definitely relate to both. With 4 sons, I have a huge pile of unmatched socks. *smile*

    Thanks for stopping by and visiting! God bless. Dani

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Duker  |  . at .

    Oh my GOSH…. I thought the sock monster only lived in my dryer !! I get to a point that all the
    “SINGLE” socks go in a small basket by the dryer and I have a match maker, match maker party. Those that don’t find dates have to be donated or tossed or turned into hand puppets, dust rags, or whatever but I have found that they try to take over my life @#!@#$#%$ Argh…. At my house out of a service for 16 I have 5 teaspoons. I think they went on an adventure with the forks. {Probably looking for a side of beef).

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Susan  |  . at .

    It was nice to “meet” you, Dani.

    Have a great camping trip.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Susan  |  . at .

    Duker – you are so funny.

    I like the idea of having a basket right by the dryer to keep the singles until their ultimate fate can be determined.

    I think I’ll go look for a “side of beef” as i haven’t eaten yet. Been too busy catching up with things.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. ColoradoColumbine  |  . at .

    Apparently forks take off on their own all over the world. I’ve had to replenish my fork drawer a couple of times. I wonder where they go? Is there an annual meeting in a forest somewhere in the Amazon where all the missing forks go for a once in a lifetime party? Will archeologists one day in the distant future dig up ancient garbage dumps and wonder why the world of this time worshipped forks and sacrificed them regularly? Maybe the forks you bought at your thrift store were my forks looking for a new and better life in America?

    Questions, questions! But … where DID my forks go?? And why?? Maybe we need to call the X-Files.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Susan  |  . at .

    Ahhh Columbine, those are the eternal questions, aren’t they? I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one with missing forks. 🙂

    As an aside, I used to really like the x-files. It would be cool if our fork mystery were an episode in some x-file remake.

    And of course we could “play” ourselves. Or if I couldn’t be me, I’d like Meg Ryan to be me because sometimes I’d like to be her. At least the Meg I perceive.

    Like

    Reply
  • […] seem to have odd socks. Even though they go into the dryer as a pair, they come out as singles. Go here to read a poem about missing socks I wrote one distraught […]

    Like

    Reply
  • […] Still having a drawer full of them. It’s the little things that bring […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
7 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 731 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


