my heart is soooo sad today

. at . 4 comments

My heart is so sad about the Amish schoolhouse shooting.

4 Funerals have taken place today in a town I don’t know and amongst people I don’t know.

And yet I care and am affected by their deaths.

The darlings buried were 13, 8 and 7 (2 of them). A 12 year-old will be buried tomorrow. They died as a result of one man’s struggle with sin.

Haven’t we seen enough of what happens when we don’t become reconciled to God, to others, and ourselves?

If I don’t reconcile and stay reconciled, I may never go out and shoot innocent children. But I will hurt “innocent” relationships. Do you know what I mean? Have you been there? Are you there now?

I am angry and scared and soooo sad about these deaths.

And I don’t understand. But I am ok with that. I believe God is ok with that too. I agree with Lizzy Fisher, an Amish grandmother, ““You think about them, you cry about them . . . and then you have to let go of things you can’t explain.”

But there are things I can do. Practice forgiveness. Send donations. Work on my “sin” issues. Pray for spiritual, physical, and emotional reconciliation.

This mourning Amish community of Nickel Mines is also doing something. They are practising “forgiveness, faith and a determination to move forward.” An Amish neighbor comforted the Roberts family hours after the shooting and extended forgiveness to them.

They are also sharing love.

  • At the behest of Amish leaders, a fund has also been set up for the killer’s widow and three children.
  • “The hurt is very great,” Gertrude Huntington said. “But they don’t balance the hurt with hate.”

Will you join me in prayer?

  • For the family and friends of the dead girls
  • Five more girls remain in critical condition
  • The other students and teachers who were not shot
  • Mrs. Roberts and her three children
  • In fact this whole community
Entry filed under: Main, Meditations, Susan's World.

Falling Leaves Ahead – From Your Trees or Your Life? Sometimes CA Courts Shock Me – And That’s Good

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. KayinMaine  |  . at .

    Excellent post. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this truly heartbreaking incident.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Theresa  |  . at .

    Very good post. I was really excited to hear some of the Amish and Mennonite people proclaiming God’s healing and loving power on the national news…an example of how satan means to kill and destroy, but God can take even this evil and bring about good. Their forgiveness is real and the sad part is that this man, if anyone had known, might have received love and healing from the Lord. I am sorry for his wife and children left behind to try and figure out why and what and how come. I am glad that many, many people are praying for them. (Sorry I didn’t get to talk to you more at church tonight, when you stopped I was distracted and brain dead! Afterwards I thought it probably came off as I didn’t care, but I do…and I lost your email address, that’s why I’m writing this here!)

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Susan  |  . at .

    Kay, Thanks for the kind words and for visiting.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Susan  |  . at .

    Theresa,

    I appreciate your comments.

    I didn’t think you were ignoring me or anything of the sort.

    I know what babies can do to us women. I get that way sometimes myself. 🙂

    If you lose my personal email, you can always email me here: Susan@cnchurch.org.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
12 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 640 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


