Easiest Weight Loss Tip EVER . . .

. at . 17 comments

Drink water!

Yep, that’s it. About 10-12 cups a day.

I mentioned here that I’ve lost 15 pounds without trying. Drinking more water is how.

I have not (consciously) been doing anything else differently. In fact, I wasn’t drinking more water to lose weight. I started because it was an easy health action I could implement. One Sunday I put on my dress shoes and they were loose! That’s the first place I noticed the weight loss.

I have not noticed increased skin moisture, memory or energy. I’ve heard that the last two are also side-benefits of drinking adequate amounts of water.

There are increased bathroom trips. Read below to find out why.

As you continue to give your body all the water it could ask for, it gets rid of what it doesn’t need. It gets rid of the water it was holding onto in your ankles and your hips and thighs, maybe even around your belly. . . Your body figures it doesn’t need to save these stores anymore; it’s trusting that the water will keep coming, and if it does, eventually, the flushing (of both the body and the potty) will cease, allowing the human to return to a normal life.

“But it’s so yucky to drink that much water,” you say. I used to say that too. I helped myself by drinking it hot, in a class with ice cubes, sipping it through a straw and by adding lemon or lime slices or squirts from concentrate. Now, I actually LIKE drinking that much water. (I used to drink maybe 3 cups daily.)

Go here to get more ideas on how to drink more.

Well, that’s my Works-For-Me-Wednesday tip.

Share your best tip at Shannon’s. Or go to Shannon’s, Rocks-In-My-Dryer, to read other great tips.

Related Posts . . . Drinking Water Tips . . . Tips for Drinking More Water

Entry filed under: Main.

The Nativity Filled Our Time and Minds Highlights from December 1-9, 2006

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mrs. Darling  |  . at .

    Oh my! I almost never drink water. Everytime I read something liek this I get inspired but it falls by the wayside. I think this time Im going to try it.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Carrie  |  . at .

    i know i know!! i know it works. i just have to make myself do it. thanks for the tips on how to drink more.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Gina  |  . at .

    I drink lots of water, but obviously not enough to lose weight. I guess I should measure out the mugs I’m using to see just how much I’m really drinking!

    BTW, I also heard you need to drink the same amount of water as you do caffiene just to counter act the dehydration caffiene causes!

    Thanks for the tips!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. carlady  |  . at .

    I find that I struggle to remember to drink water when I’m at home on the weekends but don’t have any trouble keeping up during the week at work.
    Caffeine is NOT your friend and really dehydrates you. Defeats your efforts to stay hydrated and stay ahead with your water intake.
    You do actually begin to crave water when you get in the habit of drinking it. They say that you should drink before you are thirsty because once you feel thirst you are dehydrated and very far behind in your intake.
    Cheers!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Becky  |  . at .

    I am not a water drinker, but I know I need to be. I appreciate you sharing ways to make it easier!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Theresa  |  . at .

    Good for you! :o) I have read that many times when you think you are hungry, your body is really thirsty and that you should drink some water first. I know I feel better when I drink water and really notice it the days I get lazy about it! Keep up the good work!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Lynette  |  . at .

    Way to go! Time to start drinking water again. But I get so tired of running to the bathroom all the time.

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Lynette  |  . at .

    BTW Timmy’s meatloaf was yummy! Although I had to sub. the spices & I was out of ketchup & mustard so I had to make up my own sauce. Next timeI will double the recipe for meatloaf sandwiches the next day.

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Susan  |  . at .

    Thanks, Lynette. It is a GOOD recipe. I like the idea about making extra for sandwiches the next day. I never thought about that!

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Susan  |  . at .

    Lynette – I get tired of all the potty runs too!

    I keep holding onto that thought that it really will lessen.

    Good luck with your water drinking.

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Susan  |  . at .

    Mrs. Darling – Good luck on the water drinking. I am actually amazed that it is ME who is so faithful at water drinking. I am taking one health change at a time.

    Carrie – At first it was a struggle but now it really is a part of my life. I hope forever! I don’t usually drink sodas or hot beverages so I think that makes it easier.

    Gina – In my research the other day, the common consensus was that you needed to drink 1/2 oz for each pound you weigh.

    It is possible all or most of my weight loss was due to water retention. I’ve had edema in my ankles and legs for YEARS! But now I have skinny ankles.

    Thanks for the tip on counteracting the caffeine. It’s another reason for me to not let myself get hooked on coffee or tea.

    LADIES, thank you for visiting my site.

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. Susan  |  . at .

    Carlady – IS this really caTlady? I appreciate your comments. I could see where that would be a problem. Since I normally work from home it’s all the same to me.
    If you come up with some tips or tricks to remind yourself, let me know.

    Becky – I hope even one tip helps. Good luck.

    Theresa – Yes, it does help me feel better too.

    In my research I found that it is GREAT for asthmatics. I saved this sentence -can’t remember where it’s from.

    “Asthmatics’ histamine levels increase with dehydration, mobilizing their body’s defense mechanism to close down their airways.”

    Thanks for the encouragement.

    LADIES – Have a great day drinking. 🙂 Thanks for visiting me today.

    Like

    Reply
  • 13. Becky  |  . at .

    Thanks for visiting my site and leaving such nice comments. Hope to read your letter soon! Have a great day! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 14. Q&Q  |  . at .

    Works for me! It truly does help you lose or maintain a healthy weight. There is so much research on the health benefits of water. We discovered our tap water was hideous and now drink bottled. Even the cats!

    Like

    Reply
  • 15. Lorna  |  . at .

    have to take this advice on board. Thanks

    Like

    Reply
  • 16. Greg Todd  |  . at .

    I’m trying to lose 100 pounds while documenting it online. I know I don’t drink nearly enough water. I’m going to make a point to drink a lot more from now on.

    Like

    Reply
  • […] lost 22 pounds by using this idea and daily drinking lots of water. Works for […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 762 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


