Seminary Has Started

. at . 9 comments

For those of you who don’t know – school is in session.

I am taking 4 classes this time around. While I’ll be swamped, it will be an awesome learning time. Many of the books I get to read, I would’ve wanted to read anyway. I’ll share as I go along.

I am taking . . .

  1. Thinking Theologically About Ministry – One goal is to have the students look at ministry with fresh eyes. Are we doing the expected traditional stuff because it is the expected traditional stuff? Or because that is the Spirit’s leading?
  2. Practising Prayer & Other Disciplines – Our prof’s goal is to have God explode in our quiet times because of the addition of these disciplines. For two weeks I’ll be concentrating on Confession and Holy Spirit Guidance.
  3. Theology 1 – LOTS of heavy reading. One of the goals is to develop a theo-centric worldview.  I think I have one, but examination (from this class) will show whether or not I truly have God in the middle of all my life’s thoughts and actions. I am looking forward to discovering what I don’t know and then seeing how learning it impacts my worldview and life.
  4. Old Testament 1 – This prof is passionate about Christians knowing the Old Testament especially the first five books. In one class he showed how knowing the Old Testament and geography (yes, geography) expands, enriches and enlivens the New Testament. Wow! I guess memorizing map stuff will be worth that.

Lots and lots of reading.

Please pray that I . . .

  • Read quickly
  • Retain the important info
  • Re-organize my schedule for maximum effectiveness between school and every other part if my life
  • Meet with God daily in my personal time with Him

What are you reading right now? Learning in your quiet times? I’d love to hear.

Entry filed under: Main, School. Tags: .

Monday Menu Plan for Singles I’ve been thinking about seeking and saving the lost . . .

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Owlhaven  |  . at .

    Good luck with school! Thanks for adding me to your blogroll!

    Mary, mom to many

  • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

    You are welcome, Mary.
    I always enjoy reading your blog and want others to know that as well.

  • 3. Theresa  |  . at .

    Susan! I want to be in class with you! :o) What’s up with your glasses?

  • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

    That would be fun, Theresa. Someday I do hope to teach a class on the spiritul disciplines. :-)

    I returned my old glasses (after three tries) and went someplace else. My new ones are ready for pick up. I am nervous. What if these ones don’t work either?!

    Prayers are wanyed and needed!

    Thanks so much for asking.

    Since I have so much reading, I pray that these new glasses are a good fit.

  • The courses sound fascinating. Be sure to share with us what you are learning.

  • 6. lynette  |  . at .

    All the courses sound interesting. I am lacking on knowing the Old Testament. The geography & history have been becoming more of an interest to me. I look forward to hearing what you learned & how it will impact your life.

  • 7. susan2009  |  . at .


    I will share.

    I always have so many thoughts in my head but seem to get so few out. And those that do come out require re-writing. Many times I do not take that time to rewrite.

    I like how you thoughtfully consider so many things in your blog.

  • 8. susan2009  |  . at .

    Thanks, Lynette.

    I’ll also lend any of my books if you are interested. I’ll even let you know what map stuff I have to know as I learn it. I’m always looking for a study buddy.

  • 9. Angie  |  . at .

    I have a hard time with remembering to make time for God. I plan every year to be better in this but it slips away. On someone’s blog they told about “Life Journal” and a website that will give you passages to go through the bible throughout the year – here is the link for the daily passages and here is a link to the blog that had the info It was really great to read that others have the same problem and how they try to fix it.

    Keep sharing with us so you can make us all better christians – I know I have lots and lots to learn!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

57 Thing To Do During my 57th Year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2016
3 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

