Happy 103rd Birthday, Theodor Seuss Geisel

. at . 2 comments

I grew up on the the Dick, Jane and Spot readers. I remember this one about Jane getting 3 dollies for her birthday. Bleh!

I didn’t want dollies. I wanted adventures, dirt, improper behaviour.  Thankfully Dr. Seuss delivered: selfish Yertles, yacky cats, sneaky grinches and grinchy sneetches.

See here for a bunch of Dr. Seuss activities and links. See here for info about Dr. Seuss. It’s an interesting read. It appears that he typically wrote one book a year!

Sorry the day is over. Probably none of you are going to go rush to wake your babies to partake of these fun ideas now. Oh well, they’ll still be fun even if it isn’t his birthday.

Quiz – Which of the following books were written in my birth year?

  1. Yertle the Turtle and Other Stories
  2. The Cat in the Hat Comes Back
  3. Green Eggs and Ham

Numbers 1 and 2.  These also happen to be my favorite books. What’s your fav Dr. Seuss book? Why?

So happy belated birthday, March 2nd,  to one of my favorite childhood authors.

Entry filed under: Books, Honor Roll, Susan's World.

Desert Island, Slouched in the Couch or on the Hammock, What Books are MUST Reads 10 Helpful Offerings from Habakkuk

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. doodah!  |  . at .

    Hee hee! Here’s to “adventures, dirt, improper behaviour”! Fantastic! My favorite… there are too many to pick. I did kind of like the one about running the circus (the Circus McGurkus – heh heh) and “to think that I saw it on Mulberry Street.” Fun!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. doodah!  |  . at .

    I also love your description of Seuss books: “selfish Yertles, yacky cats, sneaky grinches and grinchy sneetches.” great writing!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
7 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 731 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


