Personal Response to Evil (at Virginia Tech, Columbine & 9/11)

. at . 1 comment

I’m finding it hard to sleep tonight
With so many people staggering under a canyon of grief
and questions

Multitudes of prayer that God will be your comfort

I’m thankful my two college-aged children are safely tucked in their beds
Alive

I feel guilty somehow that I’ve let these 33 down
I’m alive – they aren’t

My children live another day
Other moms and dads don’t have that privilege

My kindergarten through 3rd grade years were punctuated
with siren drills
where obedient children scurried
under neat rows of small desks
confident that insignificant barricade would protect
from nuclear fallout

That phantom never put on skin

And yet fear hitch-hiked from my school days
to when my children entered middle school

Responsible parents, we, uprooted in 1998 –
4 months before April 20, 1999
From violent, unpredictable CA to pastoral, safe CO

And yet while sipping soda – that fiercely ugly day –
talking about the importance of Truth and morality
My son and I watched evil unfold in Columbine
My daughter scared in a locked down school
wondering would evil find her too?

While answers to why are hard to find
heroes aren’t

Multitudes of prayer that God was their comfort

Speed dial 2001
Disbelief spills and collects on the ground
of campus where the news first assaulted
my loose skin of security
as evil unfolded on September 11

While answers to why are hard to find
heroes aren’t

Multitudes of prayer that God was their comfort

October 5, 2006 – that fiercely ugly day –
Evil spit up more destruction
While an Amish community pulled in to grieve
and heal

While answers to why are hard to find
heroes aren’t

Multitudes of prayer that God was their comfort

And now on April 16, 2007 – that fiercely ugly day –
in class while learning
financial principles and security
My loose skin of security shot through again
Evil claimed more tender victims

Virginia Tech
Dear Virgina Tech
Prayers that you will prevail

While answers to why are hard to find
heroes aren’t

And prayers that God will be OUR comfort
in this violent, unpredictable world

Entry filed under: Honor Roll, Susan's World.

“I Will Never Desert You.” Resource for God and Tragedy

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
7 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 731 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


