Pain burns calories but I don’t recommend it as a diet aide

. at . 3 comments

1 Week Down & 1 More To Go.

I have been really good about staying prone all week – of course pain is a great motivator. Yesterday my lower back, left hip and left leg hurt a lot. I feel much better today!

My friend Chris (who is a physical therapy assistant) gave me some tips:

  • 3 exercises: pelvic tilt, side neck stretch and tush squeeze (to put it politely).
  • How to properly get off the couch or bed from a lying position.
  • Pain burns calories.That could be why I’ve been so hungry even though I am not doing much anything. I am very grateful for the meals that are being brought.  🙂
  • Water exercise (only walking at this point) might be easier on my body than walking. I need to check out Hagan Park’s pool and see when it’s open and what the cost is.
  • Use my exercise ball as a chair in front of the computer. That’s what I’ve been sitting on every time I typed this (3-5 minutes at a time). It is more comfortable than my desk chair, but still 5 minutes is my max limit.
  • Stop and think. Even when I feel less pain, limit my movement.

I go back to the chiropractor tomorrow. I’m looking forward to what he had to say about my progress. Thanks for your prayers.

Know what I miss most? You all, doing my homework, and Googling.

Entry filed under: chronic pain, Susan's World. Tags: .

Griffith Park Fire Brings Up Memories 5 Things I Learned Between Naps

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lynettejoy  |  . at .

    Hagan Pool opens Memorial Day weekend.
    go to http://www.crpd.com for times.
    They have Family swims (we do those), lap swimming & a water aerobics class.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Lesley Marie  |  . at .

    I reckon pain MUST burn calories…I have osteo-arthritis in my knees and they are sometimes so very sore (particularly if standing for long periods, or up and down stairs a lot- like today !) that they feel very, very warm internally- where my cartillage has worn to next-to-nothing, yet to touch my skin they feel normal temperature. I know I’m not imagining this pain and surely heat equals calories, doesn’t it…???

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Gloria  |  . at .

    Pain kills my appetite and when i am readt to go to bed, i am very hungry. I make a big snack of red grapes, tart cherries, and a small apple. In the morning i am not hungry. I beleve pain burns calories be ause it releases hormones, i could be wrong, but i believe it does.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
4 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 752 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


