I went to church!!!

. at . 6 comments

Yesterday I went to church for the first time in 5 weeks. I squirmed a lot trying to get comfortable, but I made it. I never realized how uncomfortable the pews are!

The sermon on Jonah 1, music and visiting with some sure made up for any discomfort I had.

I left the service thinking about how faithfully I follow God’s will for my life.

  • Do I “coom“? Arise quickly and go in the direction God wants me to go. (Not batting a 100 here.)
  • Or “viacoom“? Arise and quickly go in the opposite direction God requests. (I have to say “yes” I do this sometimes.)

Sometimes fear prevents me from cooming. Sometimes it is laziness. Or even pride.

My prayer is that I will be quickly obedient to God the first time He asks.

How about you? How do you fare in this topic of first time obedience?

PS – It’s great feeling so much better!

Entry filed under: chronic pain, Prayer, Susan's World.

I now have permission to . . . Sometimes I Need to Cry Out to Jesus

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lynettejoy  |  . at .

    Happy, happy, happy to see you at church.
    Sorry I missed the sermon. I will have to get the tape.
    45 Moms & kids at the park today! You would have loved it! Maybe next you can come.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. doodah!  |  . at .

    Yay! So glad you were able to get out!!! Keep taking care of yourself. Still praying.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. susan2009  |  . at .

    Lynette –
    Sounds like an awesome time! Great job at promoting and arranging this king of get-together time.

    Yes, the sermon was also great. Thought-provoking and challenging.

    I was happy, happy happy to be at church. While we were singing I was all teary eyed at the blessing of being there. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

    Doodah –
    Thanks so much for your prayers. They’re being answered.

    My knee is still pretty bad and my mobility is limited, but I am noticeably better.

    And my mind is back. It came to me on Friday. I hadn’t realized it was gone until Friday dawned (ha! ha!) and I was clear-minded and organized in my thinking. I’ve never experinced anything like this before.

    Yes, I will be diligent about the care-taking goals, especially with my dd here (for another week) and ds here for 6 months.

    I am blessed in many arenas. :-0

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Theresa Lindamood  |  . at .

    Yeah! I looked for you but did not see you. Since I have missed a few times recently I did not realize it had been so long for you. You must have been very “thirsty”! I’m glad you are beginning to heal. I have to admit I wasn’t overly excited about another Jonah sermon series…it seems to be a popular choice, but I really thought it was good and that Mike expressed some viewpoints I had not heard from several other pastors that I have heard preach on Jonah. So, I’m looking forward to hearing what comes next!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

    Theresa, I’m looking forward to what else Pastor has to say as well. Isn’t God good to give fresh insights to familiar tails. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 762 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


