Who Wants To Lug Around Bitterness & Blame?

. at . 3 comments

Not me!

Forgiveness means deferring the cause to Christ and deciding to be free of the ongoing burden of bittereness and blame.” *

Tomorrow, June 17th is Father’s Day and would have been my 25th wedding anniversary. Since my divorce, both days remind me of some things I’d rather not face.

This forgiveness stuff is taking longer than I thought. And I also thought I was done with it in these two areas.

“Think again,” says God.

Lord, without Your prodding, power and persistence, I cannot do this. Thank You that Your plans for me include healing and freedom from emotional pain and hard memories. Thank You, Father, for not EVER giving up on me, for not EVER discarding me. Help me to be faithful to You. Amen.”

*I read this quote in a devotional book by Beth Moore, “Praying God’s Word Day-by-Day: A Year of Devotional Prayer.”

Will tomorrow be a sad, hard or difficult day for you? If you share, I’d love to pray God’s blessing, protection and healing for you.

Entry filed under: Prayer, Susan's World.

2 Benefits of Water Exercise 18 Things I’m Grateful For . . .

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lynettejoy  |  . at .

    I had forgotten until just tonight. Father’s Day was the last time I ever saw my mom. She died 3 days later. No wonder I was in a funk this morning. Friday is the annivesary of her death or as I like to say “Happy 13th birthday with Jesus”

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

    No wonder, Lynette.
    Anniversaries are hard, aren’t they?

    Even though they can also be sweet as in this case of your mom being with Jesus.

    My prayers and support are with you, my friend.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Theresa Lindamood  |  . at .

    I am so behind in blogs and didn’t read this until today and wished that I had known so I could pray. As you are finding out…grieving comes and goes and just when you think you’ve done it, something else comes. Remember, you are a beautiful princess bride…the daughter of a Heavenly Father who loves you unfailingly and a bride to the Only Perfect Man, who will never leave you or forsake you. When your heart aches, fall into His arms.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
10 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


