My 7 Wonders of the Modern World

. at . 4 comments

7. High Quality Indoor Plumbing – try going camping to a remote site to get an idea. I have memories of using the outhouse on many camping trips from my youth. My brother even locked me in one at a beach site in So Cal. And I LOVE those hot showers.

6. Microchip – If I didn’t have the microchip that runs my computer, what else would you do with 7 hours of my day? I really missed my computer and internet these past two weeks.

5. Car – Our world sure has expanded because of this one. I.e. Any morning I can drive to SF to visit my kiddos and then return that evening to my own home. And today Sista, nieces and I spent the day in Placerville. All because a car made the trip enjoyable and easy to reach in a timely manner. However, if I lived in places where traffic rules were only suggestions, I wouldn’t think it so wondrous.

4. Cell Phone – You can call anyone anywhere anytime. (This idea is courtesy of K.) Hmmm. Maybe that’s not such a wonder because THEY can call me anywhere anytime too.

3. Microwave Oven – This is definitely the most used item in my home. It cooks, pops, boils, warms up, and bakes foods; dries out soaked cell phones and books and is even used for a step in some craft projects.

2. Over the Counter Medications – I have a new appreciation for products like Pepto-Bismo, Immodium, and Advil. I also appreciate bandages, Neosporin, hydogen peroxide and tweezers. Can you imagine not being able to easily and inexpensively pick up these items?

1. Education – I love learning. In my world it’s possible to learn almost anything and pretty cheaply too. I.e. Sista and I are looking into taking a Conversational Spanish class through our city’s adult education system. It’ll be cool to speak Spanish in front of the kiddos without them knowing what we are saying. They are now too smart for the spelling trick. I also want to see how a “professional” conversation class is run. That way if I get to do another intensive conversation English class next year, I’ll have a good basis of comparison.

There you have it, the 7 wonders of the modern world as I see it today, right now.

Here’s what one bloke says.

What would top yours?

Entry filed under: Gratitude List, Susan's World.

Last Work Day Technology IS Great When It Works

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Duker  |  . at .

    Susan,
    These NEW 7 wonders have just whetted my appetite to hear more about your wonderous trip.
    Oh the memories of a lifetime !! I for one am glad you are back safe, sound and in good health. We will need to meet for an in depth discovery session !!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Lori  |  . at .

    I think we need to add airplanes to the list! Sure beats taking a boat.
    Glad to know you’re back home safely. Wish I could hop on a plane and go see you.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. doodah  |  . at .

    Welcome home! When can I serve you Turkish Tea and hear your stories? 😉

    Hmmmm you have a great list: cars, phones, Internet – the connections we have with people are astounding… Hard to top that…

    Maybe some medical stuff – like Xrays and MRIs and those wierd cameras that they snake into you, things that let them see inside you without actually cutting you open!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. lynettejoy  |  . at .

    Doodah right, can’t top your list! Welcome home, can’t wait to see you & hear all your trip. Heard alot from Shula yesterday & tasted candy from Jordan

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
7 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 731 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


