Take Off The Mask

. at . 4 comments

We are a hurting people. Left to ourselves we tend to be destructive. We tend to isolate and envelope ourselves within a bubble of silence behind a mask. Or maybe this is only true of those I know?

I am a hurting person and left to myself I tend to be destructive. I tend to isolate and envelope myself within a bubble of silence behind a mask.

That’s why when I’m hurting, when I’m down I need help . . .

  • Help to break out of that silence . . .
  • Help to correct my thinking . . .
  • Help to organize a doable to-do list . . .
  • Help to go to God in humble confession . . .
  • Help to love myself . . .
  • Help to take that one next step.

Music is one thing I can do to help myself see the Truth. One way I can break out of that silence. One way I can take off my mask – a least a little corner.

This week I’ve spoken with several women who are breaking that silence.They are admitting (to their embarrassment) that they are hurting, fearing and doubting. They are saying things like Twila Paris wrote in one of her songs:

I know the answers I’ve given them all
But suddenly now I feel so small
Shaken down to the cavity in my soul
I know the doctrine and theology
But right now they don’t mean much to me

Today I’m listening (youtube video) to Do I Trust You, Lord (words) and praying.

Dear Lord, thank You that You are our personal Father and almighty God.

Please help my hurting sisters to see and know that You are a trustworthy God. Remove the veil of deception from their thinking. And help me with this too.

Help us see and know we can trust You  . . . in the midst of uncertainty . . . confusion . . . physical ailments . . . debilitating depression . . . financial struggles . . . relationship catastrophes . . . addiction . . . unbelief.

Help our desire to trust You match our action. Help us to agree that today we will trust You.

Help us to break out of the silence. Take off our masks.  Confess our sins, fears, doubts, and even our faith in You, oh Lord. Especially our faith in You.

Amen.

Entry filed under: Meditations, Music, Susan's World. Tags: .

Sorry about the silence Ladies Christmas Party in Two Days

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lynettejoy  |  . at .

    For me personally-taking off my mask begins when I am alone in prayer down on my knees before my Almighty & loving God. It is then only then that I begin to peel off my mask. Because if I can’t reveal myself fully before God then I cannot do it elsewhere.

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      That is a time when I do the same, Lynette. God is always so much more gracious and safe than people.

  • 3. Theresa Lindamood  |  . at .

    This fits in with some of our discussion in SS yesterday from Peacemaker. The irony is that the more vulnerable we became, the more complete our healing is and in the right circumstances the more fulfilling our relationships are. Figuring out how and who to be vulnerable with is the tricky part. I kept passing you yesterday and you were very busy ministering to many people. I have just praying for your strength and that the Lord would provide your needs. It’s nice to see a post…is your computer fixed or did you have to post elsewhere?

    Reply
  • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

    Becoming vulnerable by taking off masks is found in all kinds of “literature” even in such places as the Peacemaker curriculum.

    It is ironic, Theresa, that when we share our fears, failures, disappointments, etc is when we find healing. Many times I wish there was another way. It is sooooo important to be diligent about setting up good boundaries as to what we tell people and when.

    My computer is fixed. Wahoo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other followers

57 Thing To Do During my 57th Year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2016
10 months to go.

57 Things I’ve Done by March 2016

1. Bought Personalized 2015 Photo Calendar
2. Bought Personalized Stamps
3. Wrote 2 Blackout Poems
4. Movie Marathon: The Good Witch Films (7 of them)
5. Family Special Time (Lennon, Kadie)

57 Books I’ve Read by March 2016

1. The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by Marie Kondo.
2. Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption by Laura Hillenbrand
3. Inspiration Sandwich by SARK.
4. A Man of Grit and Grace: Paul by Charles Swindoll
5. Prayer: Life's Limitless Reach by Jack R Taylor
6. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
7. The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Book of Braille Sculptures

By Elizabeth Symington

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 563 other followers

