Hospitality Goofs and Chicken Tortilla Soup

. at . 6 comments

Hospitality Homework for last week was to invite someone over for a meal.

Tuesday night my guest showed up along with the torrential rain that has inundated northern California.

Problem – I thought our meal was for Thursday and I was in the midst of writing two papers due for Wednesday. One of the papers was on communication! Good thing my prof didn’t know that in reality I flunked that test.

Afterwards I thought about how I could’ve handled it better. My house was astrew with books, papers and projects. Not much food of the healthy kind was available. But I could’ve taken us to a nearby restaurant, since I needed to eat as well.

On Sunday we finally had a meal together: Chicken Tortilla Soup, oranges, Best Ever Muffins (which weren’t) and water. No salad because the fixings were yuck. Despite all this, we had a tasty meal and fun time.

My guest even asked for the soup recipe; which could be renamed as dump soup. So here it is as given to me by Lori.

Dump the following in a soup pan and heat until warm:

  • 1 can (12.5 oz) chunk chicken breast
  • 1 can (15 oz.) of black beans (pinto beans are NOT a good substitute)
  • 1 can (15 oz.) of kernel corn
  • 2 can s(15 oz. each) of chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups salsa (canned tomatoes with seasoning are NOT a good substitute)

Serve over tortillas and top with shredded cheese, avocado slices, sour cream, and olives.

If you have more time, money and a sensitive palate you could try this version that tastes like it came from Applebee’s. Truth be told, I prefer the one that tastes like it came from Lori’s.

What are some of your hospitality goofs? Favorite dump meals?

P.S. A good dump cake recipe is here. Read the 7th comment for the actual recipe.

Entry filed under: Hospitality, Menu Plan Monday.

4 Week Hospitality Group Format Cooking 3 Meals in a Menu Plan for One

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lynette  |  . at .

    Your mix up reminds me of a Andy Griffith episode when he showed up at the wrong house for dinner & ate 3 spaghetti dinners in one night.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Theresa Lindamood  |  . at .

    Lori’s version sounds better to me too! We make tortilla soup in our vita mix fairly frequently because you can put a whole garden of veggies in, blend then add tomato/salsa/hot sauce, black beans, corn etc. Sometimes instead of chicken I use left over taco meat which gives a good flavor too.

    I don’t have a blunder, but what stresses me out the most is the timing of all the foods and hoping that I don’t burn something or have it be too raw or…fill in the blank. I come from a family of perfectionists so sometimes that comes back up and I can only see the things that aren’t right when I need to quit being Martha and enjoy being Mary!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. susan2009  |  . at .

    Lynette,
    3 spaghetti dinners in one night. Oh my! When I was in SJ for my class a couple of weeks ago, I had carrot cake every night because it was my fav dessert (for this year). When I came back I called MT and asked her to change my fav dessert on the secret sister form. Carrot cake is not longer my fav. 😦
    BTW – great job talking in church today. Such exciting news about the sheep that was found. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

    Theresa,
    I never thought of putting in taco meat. Good idea.
    Yes, I want to be more of a Mary than a Martha, a Peter, a Thomas, hey – I could go on.

    Have you ever read the book about being a Mary in a Martha World? I haven’t – yet.

    Like

    Reply
  • […] Chicken Tortilla Soup, Jell-o Fruit: Great for April’s Fools […]

    Like

    Reply
  • […] on this post)   Salads Calico Surprise Potato Salad Green Stuff Orange Stuff     Soup/Stew Chicken Tortilla Soup Fall Harvest Soup Sweet Potato Lentil Stew in Crock Pot Tortellini Sausage Soup from Kate at Our […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
8 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


