Letter Writing Meme for 3rd Sunday

. at . 6 comments

Here’s a letter writing meme to get me started for my 3rd Sunday letter writing habit. Maybe you’d like to join me?

Answer in the comment section, please, or take these questions and answer them on your blog. Be sure to link back here so I can read your answers.

Tag 4 people and then write one of them a real letter! Let’s inundate the postal service with some “love” mail. Be sure to tell who you sent your letter to and why.

  • What was the last letter you wrote? To whom? The occasion? Was it a letter or more of a note?
  • Do you prefer writing with a pen/pencil or with a mechanical device like a Blackberry or computer?
  • Do you prefer receiving handwritten letters/notes over email? Or makes no difference, it’s all communication.
  • Do you save your hand-written letters? Why or why not? Describe a special letter that you’ll never toss.
  • What kind of paper do you typically use? Envelope? Stamp? Embellishments?
  • What is the most unusual letter you’ve ever sent? Received?
  • What was the last handwritten letter you received? From whom? The occasion? How did it make you feel?
  • Tag 4 people and then write one of them a real letter! Let’s inundate the postal service with some “love”mail. Be sure to tell who you sent your letter to and why.

See my answers by clicking on “more.” What was the last letter you wrote? To whom? The occasion? Was it a letter or more of a note? I wrote a letter to Lori just to say “hi.” Several things had happened that week that made me think of her and her family. So I found some paper doll stationary and wrote about a bit of my life.

Do you prefer writing with a pen/pencil or with a mechanical device like a Blackberry or computer? I prefer using a gel pen with fun colors. Although I don’t typically allow myself the option of buying and then using such a luxurious item. I know, sounds crazy.

Do you prefer receiving handwritten letters/notes over email? Or makes no difference, it’s all communication. Handwritten letters. I like to be able to read it over, feel the paper in my hands, fold it up and put it into the envelope. I like the time it takes to send a letter and then receive one back. There is anticipation. Time to reflect on what’s been written.

Do you save your hand-written letters? Why or why not? Describe a special letter that you’ll never toss. Yes, I save them. I love that I have the letters written to me by my parents and grandparents, especially now that they are dead. Someday I hope to scrapbook these bits of history.

A letter I’ll never toss is one from my (ex) husband. In it he wrote about how much he cared about me and our unborn son. And how he’d always take care of us. Well that sentiment has not panned out. I do pray that in some future time these two men will reconnect. My God is a big God and I believe this is His will for dad and son.

What kind of paper do you typically use? Envelope? Stamp? Embellishments? For awhile I went through a yellow pad pf paper stage. Now I like to use pretty paper with a colorful envelope. I put the stamp on upside down. I heard that meant love. I also heard that the post office doesn’t like you to do that. It makes the letter un-mailable. I’ve never had a letter come back. I like to embellish the envelope with stickers, marker drawings and puffy paint. I LIKE puffy paint.

What is the most unusual letter you’ve ever sent? Received? Can’t remember ever receiving an unusual letter. The most unusual one I sent was to my dear daughter (dd). I wrote a normal newsy letter and then mailed it in a plastic coke bottle I found in some field. I put sand in with the letter. I also put in other goodies like wrapped candy, a key chain, and a dolphin. It was fun to create and mail. The creating of it made me smile. I think it made my dd smile to receive it. I had intended on sending her more such letters in found objects, but never did.

What was the last handwritten letter you received? From whom? The occasion? How did it make you feel? The last handwritten letter I received was from my daughter. It was a thank you with newsy bits of info. I felt very loved that she’d take the time (from a very busy life) to send me her thoughts. You see, I view letters as gifts.

Tag 4 people and then write one of them a real letter! Let’s inundate the postal service with some “love” mail. Be sure to tell who you sent your letter to and why. I tag Miss Rackl, Lynette, Theresa, and Alana. After I send my letter I’ll let you all know. I want it to be a surprise.

I’d actually tag everyone on my blogroll. But I’m not sure all of them do memes. So consider yourself tagged, if you want to play along. (I don’t do rejection well.)

Entry filed under: Letter Writing.

Letter Writing Thoughts 10 “A” Type Letters – I’m Choosing Appreciation

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Theresa Lindamood  |  . at .

    This was right up my alley…I posted on my blog 3/17, my answers. I didn’t know you had a roommate. My camera is a Nikon D80…I think it’s the same as Jenny?

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

    I read your answers, Theresa. Thanks.
    I learnred some fun things about you – like how you met your hubby!

    Hmm – a wooden postcard – that sounds interesting. I just read some directions on how to make a fabric postcard. I was doing research for a school paper and somehow I ended up there. That would be fun to make with some friends. Are you a sewer? I can’t remember.

    I love the idea of putting a message in a bottle and setting it free to see who opens it. I’d like to do that this year. I guess it’ll have to be under my “unofficial” to do list. 🙂

    Thanks for playing along. It is always so fun to get to know you better.

    Like

    Reply
  • […] wrote 1 letter. I hope to make letter writing a part of my Sabbath Sunday ritual. I created a Letter Writing meme and invited you all to share about yourselves and then write an appreciation letter. I wrote mine to […]

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Elizabeth Kaylene  |  . at .

    I saw the “Letter Writing” category, and since my Letters of Love is all about writing letters, I couldn’t help myself!

    This is a really neat idea, and might make a really great chain letter (we do chain letters all the time) in the future. Bookmarked!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. susan2009  |  . at .

    Hi Elizabeth, Letter writing can be so therapuetic. And it’s so cool to receive one too. There is something soothing about holding a tangible letter in my hands. Thanks for visiting. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Jan  |  . at .

    Now two years later, I am looking at your letter writing memes and all else. I love this and am glad I found this now. I may even have to do the meme at my blog!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
9 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 728 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


