21 Ways to DeStress Your Life

. at . 7 comments

We all know that stress can bring on heart attacks, asthmatic episodes, headaches, depression, irritability and fatigue. Now headlines are proclaiming that stress can make you FAT!

That’s the last straw. I don’t need one more thing to make me fat. I’ve found some ways that are easy, fun, and cheap that help to eliminate the stress in my life.

Of course most of these are well-known options. . . .

  1. Pray. Give your worries over to God who knows all there is to know. And Who wants to help. We need to ask though.
  2. Breathe. Deep breathing is something most adults don’t do. Abdominal breathing gets more oxygen into our system. This stimulates the relaxation response.
  3. Change it up. Use a different tactic to a recurring problem. ReadWhat’s Right With You by Barry Duncan for some creative ideas on changing it up.
  4. Choice. Choose to adopt a more stress free lifestyle. Then determine which step(s) you’ll take to get there. No one can do it for you.
  5. Cut out caffeine and sugar. Even the diet sugar. Click here for 10 Ways to Cut Back on Sugar. #7 explains why no diet sugar.
  6. Eat. Eat a balanced and nutritious diet at regular intervals. This includes plenty of fresh fruit, vegetables and water.
  7. Emote in a healthy manner. Talk regularly about your problems, pain and joys to God, a friend, therapist and/or journal. Don’t self-medicate with sugar, shopping, computer/TV usage, etc so that you’ll know what you are feeling. (Of course also avoid drugs, alcohol and cigarettes.)
  8. Exercise. 3 times a week for 30 minutes is most beneficial.
  9. Herbal remedies. Rescue Remedy helped me deal with extremely anxious feelings when teaching my first English class in a foreign country. St. John’s Wort is helpful to some. Talk to your doctor, herbalist and/or research which options are best for you.
  10. Humor. Read something humorous every day. Watch a comedy. Learn funny jokes and tell them. Learn to laugh at yourself. Did you know there are Laughter coaches? Laughter Yoga? Listen to this for live laughter. Read this. Sometimes it’s the true things in life that make me laugh hardest.
  11. Look. Look at your life and identify the stressors. Which ones can you totally or partially eliminate? Which ones do you need to accept?
  12. Now. If you need help getting started or staying the course, enlist the aid of a friend, your support system, therapist, or life coach.
  13. One. Choose one thing from the list of things you can change and do it. Today.
  14. Organize and declutter. I’ve found Fly Lady a useful resource. She urges change through baby steps.
  15. Question. Is this “my” issue”? If not, let it go. If yes, make a plan of attack.
  16. Schedule. Is your schedule sane? If not, does it HAVE to be that way? Or is this hectic time a season in your life? Read Margins by Richard Swensonfor some practical ideas on streamlining your life.
  17. Sing. Grab your MP3 player, radio or computer and sing along with a few uplifting tunes. Not only does this get oxygen in, the positive words crowd out the worrisome thoughts.
  18. Sleep. Get a full night of sleep every night. Adults need 7-9 hours. Get to bed before 11 as the body recovers and recharges itself between the hours of 11 pm -1 am. (Some say this happens between 10 pm – 1 am.) Read this list of 33 Secrets to a Good Night’s Sleep.
  19. Support System. Surround yourself with encouraging people who will do more than share your joys and worries. They will hold you accountable to making the changes you desire to make. In addition, a good support group will model this type of behavior in their own lives.
  20. Water. Bathe in it. Take a walk by it. Water the garden by hand. Go in the sprinklers with the kids. Sit and listen to a water fountain. Do the dishes in the sink instead of using the dishwasher.
  21. Prayer. I started this list with prayer and I want to end it with prayer. When I do this faithfully, I find it is the best stress reliever because I remind myself that a loving God is in control – even when it doesn’t look like it. And more than that, He has my best interests at heart.

This is my Works-For-Me Wednesday Post. Go here for more ideas on what works. So far there are 265 posts!

Related Posts

Entry filed under: Main, Susan's World.

My Six New Favorites List Week 5 Summary for 51 Things

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Niki  |  . at .

    These are simple and great!

    I especially believe in the power of #1. I try to wake up a but earlier than normal each day and spend some time with God..in prayer, in reading the Bible of other Christian reading material, or listening to some music.

    It is a positive way to start off the day.

    🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Yes, Niki, I like to ass music and reading to my prayer time. These activities help remind me what’s truly important in life and that helps destress me.Thanks for your thoughts.

      Like

  • 3. Duker  |  . at .

    i SO BELIEVE IN # 17. I think that EVERY PERSON could benefit from going to bed when they said they were supposed to !!
    ( FOr those of you who know Susan, this can be a problem for her). So I will do # 1 & 20 for you to do # 17 regularly !!
    Thanks for sharing and making my day !!

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      What a snitch you are, Duker! lol Seriously though, do please do #1 and #20. I do need all the help I can get!

      Like

  • 5. doodah  |  . at .

    This is a fantastic list!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

    Niki – Thanks for visiting. I’ve visited your site (free to be frugal) and saw a few good ideas. Like the Mr. Newman products.My daughter is also allergic to dairy and stays away from soy as well.

    I agree, prayer, Bible reading is a positive way to start off the day. And sometimes I really need healp in that arena.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. susan2009  |  . at .

    Duker – you are such a love. And you are making me laugh. Just so you know, 4 nights out of the past 6, I went to bed by 11. So that is much better – probably because you are doing #1 and #20 for me. Thank you!

    Doodah – I’d love to see some of the things you’d put on your list. You know, I should have added, “Read the downright ridiculous on Doodah’s site!” Theya re good for a good chuckle if not a snort.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 751 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


