Suicide is a Permanent Solution to a Temporary Problem

. at . 2 comments

Feelings, like weather in some places (think Colorado Springs), are changeable. Wait 60 minutes or so and you’llbook on suicide have a new view in the kaleidoscope of feelings.There are things we can do to change those feelings – even those deep depressive, hopeless feelings of suicide.

How I Stayed Alive When My Brain Was Trying to Kill Me: One Person’s Guide to Suicide Prevention by Susan Rose Blauner is a book that offers concrete choices for the person with suicidal thoughts. Blauner’s message is that this “feeling” is treatable, although for many it will require hard, consistent work and a good support team.

It also has a section for family and friends of such a hurting person. The author’s intent is to provide “ideas and suggestions…[as you] embrace the suicidal thinker and help that person back to life” (263).

I am still reading this useful book. When finished I’ll write a more comprehensive review (end of June after Retreat and school finals). I felt compelled to write this blurb because of the dream I woke up with this morning. If you or someone you know is struggling with suicidal thoughts, please get help today.

One source of help could be this book. Click here to buy it from Amazon.com. Click here to buy it from Barnes&Nobles.com.

If you’d like/need prayer, I’d love to come alongside you as you deal with this for yourself or someone else. My email addy is susan (at) cnchurch (dot) org.

Edited to add: The author, Susan Blauner, left a message in the comment section. One thing she wants everyone to know is that she is available to answer questions at feedback@susanblauner.com.

Entry filed under: Main. Tags: , .

BINGO Your Way to Knowing Each Other Better (WFMW) Daughter’s Sculpture is Airing on History Channel July 14th

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Theresa Lindamood  |  . at .

    I’m glad you posted this, because as you know, we recently experienced this in our family. I hope God uses this to share His love with someone who is in that deep and dark pit right now.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Sue  |  . at .

    Hello

    I just came across this posting on your blog. I am the author of How I Stayed Alive When My Brain Was Trying to Kill Me.

    Thank you so very much for spreading the word about the book. If anyone has any questions, they can contact me at feedback@susanblauner.com

    I send you all well wishes, and thanks again.

    Sue Blauner

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
11 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 648 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


