6 Tips to Consistent Bible Reading

. at . 9 comments

reading the BibleDo you find it easy to be consistent with a Bible reading plan?

I struggle with this at times. I’ve found 6 ways to help myself.

  1. Keep all my Bible reading “supplies” together and in the same place. This includes my Bible, pencil, commentary, notebook, and timer. When I sit down to read, I also bring my ice pack (from the freezer) for my lower back. I use my notebook for insights and questions from the text. I also jot down any worries or to-do’s that interrupt my mind.
  2. Find a quiet place to read. The less distractions I have, the better I am able to purposefully read; and the more I want to read.
  3. Beautify the space. Because this area is beautiful, it is a visual joy to sit here. I have a candle that I light and a pretty pillow that I use. In the winter I snuggle with a lap quilt that a dear friend made.
  4. Realize that life happens. Some seasons I have a lot of time to read. Sometimes not. For those “not” times, I choose a plan this is shorter or tweak one to make the readings shorter. Since I have a lifetime to read the Bible, I don’t have to read it everyday, every season, like a Ph.D scholar.
  5. Mix it up. Sometimes I follow a devotional and read/ponder the Scriptures listed. Sometimes I hop-scotch through the books. Sometimes I feel “led” to read certain portions. Mainly I use a reading plan.
  6. Pray. I ask God to help me to have a hunger for His Word and to help me carve out the time on a daily basis. I also ask Him to guide me and show me what He wants me to see.

Did you know that there is a WIDE VARIETY of reading plans available online? Into They Word Ministries lists 12 plans.

Below are some of my favorites.

This works for me. What tips do you have to share?

Go to Works-For-Me Wednesday (WFMW) to see what works for other folks in ALL kinds of areas. So far today there are 245 entries.

Below are some of my past WFMW posts that might be helpful.

Entry filed under: Main, Works-For-Me-Wednesday. Tags: , .

Gratitude List Has 17 Items Today’s Gratitude List Brings You The # 18

9 Comments Add your own

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories