Of the 100 Books Which Have You Read?

. at . 3 comments

Stitches of Grace posted a list of 100 books that is recommended reading from the NEA. Below is the list. I’ve read 37 of these books. However, most of these books were read during my high school years. I read the Bible daily.

According to The Herald Tribune 25% of adults did not read even one book last year. I may not be reading books on the 100 list but I am reading. For this semester I have to read 16 books! Yikes. I won’t be reading anything else this semester. At least not officially. 🙂

As an adult, I read (almost yearly) the following:
  • Little Women – Louisa M Alcott
  • The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett
  • The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint-Exupery
  • A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
  • Chronicles of Narnia – CS Lewis
  • Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery

Books I’ve Read: Bolded books are ones I loved.

  1. A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
  2. A Tale Of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
  3. Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  4. Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carrol
  5. Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
  6. Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery
  7. Animal Farm – George Orwell
  8. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
  9. Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger (Hated this one.)
  10. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl
  11. Charlotte’s Web – EB White
  12. Chronicles of Narnia – CS Lewis
  13. Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
  14. Dracula – Bram Stoker
  15. Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchel
  16. Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
  17. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
  18. Hamlet – William Shakespeare
  19. Harry Potter series – JK Rowling (I’ve read about half of them and feel done with this series.)
  20. Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
  21. Les Miserables – Victor Hugo
  22. Little Women – Louisa M Alcott
  23. Lord of the Flies – William Golding
  24. Moby Dick – Herman Melville (truthfully I have only read half of this)
  25. Nineteen Eighty Four – George Orwell
  26. Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
  27. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
  28. Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier
  29. The Bible
  30. The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown
  31. The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Albom
  32. The Great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald
  33. The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien
  34. The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe – CS Lewis
  35. The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint-Exupery
  36. The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett
  37. The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
  38. The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame
  39. The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
  40. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  41. Watership Down – Richard Adams
  42. Winnie the Pooh – AA Milne
  43. Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte

Edited in August 2015: When I first wrote this post I had read 37 books. I have now read 43 books. From now until this list is complete, I will be intentional about finishing this list.

Books I Haven’t Read: Which ones do you suggest? Please don’t suggest Tolkien. I’ve tried to read The Hobbit 4 times and never made it past the first two chapters. GUES WHAT?! I tried The Hobbit againa nd not only did I finish it, I ENJOYED it this time.

The bolded books below are the ones I’d like to read next.

  1. A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole
  2. A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry
  3. A Prayer for Owen Meaney – John Irving
  4. A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth
  5. A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute
  6. Atonement – Ian McEwan
  7. Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks
  8. Bleak House – Charles Dickens
  9. Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
  10. Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding
  11. Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres
  12. Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
  13. Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell
  14. Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons
  15. Complete Works of Shakespeare
  16. Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  17. David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
  18. Dune – Frank Herbert
  19. Emma – Jane Austen
  20. Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy
  21. Germinal – Emile Zola
  22. His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman
  23. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
  24. Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
  25. Life of Pi – Yann Martel
  26. Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
  27. Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  28. Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
  29. Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden
  30. Middlemarch – George Eliott
  31. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
  32. Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson
  33. On The Road – Jack Kerouac
  34. One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  35. Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
  36. Persuasion – Jane Austen
  37. Possession – AS Byatt
  38. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
  39. Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome
  40. Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy
  41. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
  42. The Color Purple – Alice Walker
  43. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time – Mark Haddon
  44. The Faraway Tree Collection – Enid Blyton
  45. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
  46. The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
  47. The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
  48. The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
  49. The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold
  50. The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
  51. The Secret History – Donna Tartt
  52. The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  53. The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger
  54. The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks
  55. Ulysses – James Joyce
  56. Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray
  57. War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy

If you’d like, tell us what books you’ve read , would like to read and have loved. I have alphabatized the above lists. So if you’d like to see the original list, go back to this post.

Entry filed under: Books, Main. Tags: .

Who’s Who in the Decluttering Challenge August Declutter Challenge – Day 30 (Bathroom)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. scrabblequeen  |  . at .

    Of course knowing you and your taste/preference in books would help here….but I think you enjoy The Kite Runner, Middlemarch, and The Color Purple. I love Sci-Fi, so I’d include The Hitchhiker’s Guide if you like Sci-Fi + humour. I found The Davinci Code to be a well-written work of fiction. If you look at it that way, it is a good read.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Theresa Lindamood  |  . at .

    I have been curious about Anna Karenina but have a difficult time with books and movies that glamorize adultery or make it seem like sometimes it’s “understandable”. It was presented to me this way and so I have hesitated.

    I enjoyed Jane Austen although some of them I found tedious or too drawn out initially. Then I go back and read them again and enjoy them. I found the same to be true of Dickens. His stories are often long, but thought provoking. Having recently read an interesting and long biography of Queen Victoria, I was thinking about re-reading something from Dickens.

    I have not read Tess of the D’urbervilles and wanted to ask about it first. I just remember that the movie was “racy” and controversial when it came out and I was in high school, but don’t really know what it was about.

    I have not read Tolkien but have wanted to and I like the movies but the first 3-4 times I watched them, I drove Hubby crazy asking questions – hard to follow. I know that’s not the book, but I wondered if the book would drive me crazy like that too and make me want to scream “Get to the point!!!” lol

    When I want to have “brainless” reading (relaxing without having to analyze) I still enjoy reading Maeve Binchy and Rosamund Pilcher although they are a bit worldly. I love the view into Scotland, Ireland and Cornwall that they afford.

    Jenny L is a prolific reader/writer… we should ask her for suggestions!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Marcia "HDMac" McFarlane  |  . at .

    Many of the books you have read and loved, I loved also. I remember reading Animal Farm and 1984 in school. I did love them too. 🙂

    To read: I would suggest anything Jane Austeen or Charles Dickens. If you haven’t read Jane Ayer, read it!!! So good!!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


