A Fellow Declutter Needs Some Encouragement

. at . 9 comments

The following is from the comment section of this post. Ladies, would you please encourage this dear soul?

Hi All,

I didn’t do the challenge officially because I was relocating to a new province all through August and literally barely touched my computer. I have quite the e-mail backlog going on here!

Because I was packing and moving, I did get rid of a lot of stuff, though, and now that I’m pulling stuff out of boxes, am realizing that I need to get rid of even more! But, I’ve started my new job and only got my stuff a couple of days before I went back to work (was supposed to be sooner), so it’s still quite a disaster in here. I did all the essentials over the weekend (stuff came on Friday and I started work on Monday), and am now at a halt.

Would someone give me some motivational words to help me get going? I’m exhausted and actually got very sick because of how crazy hard I was pushing myself, but just need to keep going a bit longer to get this house together before I crash completely. I think I probably expect too much of myself, but who can stand to look at boxes and junk everywhere? Any and all advice/wisdom/good thoughts would be received with gratitude!!!

Love,
Zaniah

Entry filed under: Decluttering. Tags: .

Identifying Not Just Goals, But Legacy Goals Makes Junk Tossing Easier Friday Declutter Challange A Miscellaneous Mixture

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Spring  |  . at .

    Zaniah,
    I have been in your position many, many times. Consider that unpacking and arranging your home don’t have to happen right now. Starting a new job is stressful. Focus on your new job and on taking care of yourself. Be gentle with yourself. In the end, everything will get done.
    Spring
    Signs Of Faith Book. com

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Roxanne  |  . at .

    I can so relate to you. I myself cannot RELAX until I feel things are decluttered or all put away. I can overwhelm myself because I want to do big jobs all at once. my advice to you is to set realistic goals for yourself, one box a day maybe? Take baby steps and then congratulate yourself for those steps! Maybe get one room done at a time so you start to see the results. Start with the most important room to you so at least you can have that one room to retreat to instead of having alittle bit done in several rooms! Hang in there!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Zaniah  |  . at .

    Thank you my darlings! Your kindness has really pulled me out of a slump. I know I need to take it easy, but it’s actually depressing to come home to see this house looking like this… not what I imagined it to be. It’s like I’ve hit a wall. I know I need to break into smaller steps and just make it happen at whatever pace I can.

    The upcoming weekend will help. It’s always easier to try to accomplish things when you’re actually awake!

    Thank you so much for your kind words. Big hug for all of you!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. suzannah  |  . at .

    zaniah,

    i always feels loads better if i have a place to sit, eat, and sleep that is organized. so even just having a clear couch and coffee table, a made bed and a clear bedside table or dresser can do wonders for me.

    as for the boxes–it absolutely doesn’t have to happen all at once. i’d say focus on accessing the everyday things you need, and there will be plenty of time for everything else. take it easy, step by step. and schedule in time for whatever helps you to relax and refocus–a walk, a book, a cup of coffee, a phone call with an encouraging friend. good luck!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Zaniah  |  . at .

    You are absolutely right. I’ve got the essentials that you mentioned above out and more or less where they need to be. I do need to get through the rest in the very near future, for the movers’ insurance policy to remain in effect (yes, they broke stuff), but I do need to relax. As a matter of fact, I have a cup of mint tea sitting in front of me right now!!! Thank you for your encouragement!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

    Zaniah,

    Sounds like some lovely advice and concern going your way. I knew that would happen if I asked for input. I’ve had an incredibly busy week (papers due) and am finally on the downswing for a day or two. 🙂 And so now I have a chance to respond.

    First, I am impressed with how you asked for help. You must be a strong woman in order to do that.

    Second, you are under a LOT of stress right now:
    (1) Moving to a whole new place away from all the known people, job, shopping areas, recreation, neighbors, etc.
    (2) Starting a new job that has a different culture, expectations, dress, relationships; even how to get there is different.
    (3) Caring for yourself has to be done in a new place. All this change, while exciting and planned for, is hard on the body and emotions.

    Like the others have already said, take care of yourself. If you don’t, you won’t be able to do your job well, organize your home well, or enjoy this process. Besides, you do deserve to take care of yourself.

    Here are some more ideas.
    Get all the sleep and good food you need – make that a priority.
    Take a walk everyday.

    Put all those backlog of emails into one folder so they don’t accusingly stare at you every time you check your email.

    Create one email explaining your new situation and send it en masse to all of your friends. Don’t worry about personalizing it this time around. They will understand.

    Take time –even 30 minutes – to create something. I love puffy paint. Silly though it is, I’ll get a couple of colors and add them to a store bought card. Jazzes up the card and gives me peace. Even though I am not artistic, I’ve learned that I need to allow regular times for creativity in my life, especially when I am crazy-busy.

    Grab some hugs. 🙂

    Get some face-to-face time with someone who cares about you.

    Please let us know how you are progressing. We care. I care.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Spring  |  . at .

    I appreciate the way you handled this, Susan. For me, it has provided a reminder that we are all here for each other. No one person has to do it all and nobody is ever alone.

    I marvel at Zaniah’s strength and wisdom in knowing when to ask for help and Susan’s wisdom in knowing she was busy and that others were available.

    Thank you all.
    Spring

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Zaniah  |  . at .

    Thank you so much Susan, both for your advice and kind words. You are very wise and every word makes perfect sense.

    Thank you to all of you from the bottom of my heart. I am in a very strange and vulnerable place right now and your kindness has really helped me a great deal. I moved here with my partner, and I love him to bits, but I still can’t help feeling a bit alone. I know this will pass, but it’s overwhelming nonetheless.

    God bless you all.

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Zaniah  |  . at .

    Hello All,

    Just an update. My job is going alright. I appear to be catching on, so that’s good. There has been a bit of an upset there (it was supposed to be a program with regular assessments and promotions but that part has been cancelled) so I’m a bit put off by that, to say the least!

    The house is somewhat together. We got a surprise call from my partner’s parents, telling us that they would be visiting the next day (they’re RVers), so we threw the last bits of the house together in time for their arrival. There are some things without homes, but they’re tucked away in storage until I can figure out what the heck to do with them.

    I’m just tired. So tired. I think I may have burnt myself out a bit. I did take your advice, putting off personal e-mails and trying to take care of myself, but I somehow managed to suffer some major burn out nonetheless. I hope to recover soon.

    Thank you all again for your kind words and wisdom. I hope you are all well.

    Zaniah

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 762 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


