Pumpkin Fudge Just Got Pumpkinier

. at . 6 comments

Pumpkin Fudge is my latest love. I found the original recipe at HD Mac’s Crafty Blog and More at this post. Be sure to check out Marcia’s blog; the crafts, recipes, challenges and more will give you a lot of good ideas and reading material.

Now, onto the recipe. I even improved on it – in my opinion anyway. I don’t care for butterscotch chips, so, it’s not too surprising I didn’t love the original recipe. I substituted white chips for the butterscotch chips. The pumpkin taste is much more pronounced now.

And I made it in the microwave. I started off by using the Fantasy Fudge microwave recipe on the marshmallow creme bottle. I love easy!

Susan’s Microwavable Pumpkin Fudge (Be careful this mixture gets very bubbly and very hot in the microwave.)

Ingredients

  • 3/4 Cup Butter or Margarine (I used butter.)
  • 3 Cups Sugar
  • 2/3 Cup Evaporated Milk
  • 1/2 Cup Libby’s Solid Pack Pumpkin
  • 1 12oz Package Nestle Toll House Premier White Morsels
  • 7 Ounces Marshmallow Creme
  • 1 Teaspoon Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • OPTIONAL: 1 Cup of Chopped Pecans

Microwave Instructions

  1. Put the butter in the bowl and heat on HIGH until melted  – about 1  minute.
  2. Stir in Sugar, Evaporated Milk, and Pumpkin. Mix well.
  3. Microwave mixture on high 3 minutes, stir.
  4. Two minutes, stir.
  5. Three minutes, stir.
  6. Two and one half minutes, stir. Check temperature. See Note at the end of the recipe.
  7. Microwave two minutes more if needed, stir.
  8. Gradually stir in white chips.

      Add the following to the bowl, mixing until well blended. Be careful this mixture is very bubbly and hot!

    1. 7 Ounces Marshmallow Creme
    2. 1 Teaspoon Pumpkin Pie Spice
    3. 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
    4. OPTIONAL: 1 Cup of Chopped Pecans would make a nice addition.
    5. And then:

      1. Pour quickly pour into a greased 13×9 baking pan, spreading just until even.
      2. Cool at room temperature; cut into squares.
      3. Store tightly wrapped in refrigerator.

      Note: At this point (Step 6) I used my candy thermometer to see how hot the mixture was. It needs to be 234 degrees Fahrenheit. Both times I made this, I needed to add Step 7 and cook for two more minutes. My microwave is 1000 watts. From now on I won’t have to check the temperature at Step 6.

      Let me know if you make this. How did it turn out? Any additions? Suggestions?

      Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , .

      CNC Women, Want Some Good News? Me, too! Hello Elizabeth, This Post Is 4 U; Plus Google Reader Warning

      6 Comments Add your own

      • 1. Marcia "HDMac" McFarlane  |  . at .

        Wahoo!!! The white chips do sound like they would be good too! I am so pleased that you could use, adapt and fall in love with this! lol. Thanks for letting me know!!!!!

        Like

        Reply
      • 2. Elizabeth  |  . at .

        My only suggestion is could you adapt this for vegans? 😉

        It sounds divine. I bet is smells great too. I adore pumpkin!

        Like

        Reply
      • 3. Spring  |  . at .

        Elizabeth,
        Maybe substitute almond butter and vanilla flavored soy milk and carob chips?

        I’d use less soy milk and more carob chips and maybe add a Tbs of flour (!?) for texture…just a thought.

        Or make homemade vegan marshmellows and don’t let them set up and use that for the marshmellow creme, then substitute the other ingredients, staying light on the soy milk and a little heavy on the carob chips for texture and maybe adding a bit more raw sugar for taste.

        Don’t know how this will work, you might have to make it many times to get it right 🙂
        Happy Experimenting!

        Just a thought.

        Like

        Reply
      • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

        Elizabeth, let us know if you try this adaptation by Spring. Robbie has some ideas too. I’ll let you know what she says.

        Like

        Reply
      • 5. Elizabeth  |  . at .

        Here’s my dairy free version:
        http://weirdandsurprisinglygood.blogspot.com/2008/10/pumpkin-fudge-dairy-free.html

        I borrowed your excellent layout for the recipe. I figured it would be ok since we are related (and I’m not making $$ off of it.) Thanks for making it easy to read and pretty to look at.

        Thanks Mom for posting the recipe!

        Like

        Reply
      • […] Pumpkin Fudge Just Got Pumpkinier  […]

        Like

        Reply

      Leave a Reply

            Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


      Join Me For Write31Days 2016

      59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

      The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
      7 months to go.

      Latest Tweets

      Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

      Join 731 other followers

      Stuff I’ve Written and When

      Categories


