11 Things That Gave Me Joy Today . . .

. at . 4 comments

. . . And so I say thanks.

My daughter and I spent the morning walking, First at Eastshore State Park in Albany, the East Bay area.

  1. This park is an off-leash area for dogs. We met about a dozen dogs from young, frisky things to stiff-jointed oldsters. We even saw 3 huge St Bernards. We were driving by these guys and so didn’t get a chance to say “Hello.”beth_and_firepi_02t1
  2. We had an improntu photo shoot in a cool fire pit. Wouldn’t it be fun to have a group here singing silly camp songs and roasting marshmallows? Oh, dd! We forgot to do that when we got back to your place.

mom_and_fire_pit1

 

 

 

 

 

 

firepit1

3. Walking by the water always makes me happy, even if there isn’t sand to walk in. mom_and_stepping_stones I was doubly happy because I did not fall in and get wet.

 

4. There is tons of graffiti and spray paint on the landfill items (think huge blocks of concrete and rebar). This construction material was dumped here; I think to construct this man-made peninsula.   Go here to read about plans (from 2002) to rid this area of the artistic expressions and tame the area into a proper park. I guess the artists are not so easily tamed as it appears not much has happened in the past 6 years. Go here to read more about the history and see images of the art. I always wondered about the art that I saw from the freeway while traveling I-80 into SF.

einsteinstepping_stones

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Then we drove to a spot my dd saw from the train: Point Pinole Regional Shoreline. This 2,315 acre park used to be company housing and plant facility for Atlas Powder Company (about 1881-eucalyptus_nuts1940’s). Atlas produced black powder, dynamite and nitroglycerin. There were so many explosions (unintended) that eucalyptus trees were planted to buffer the noise.

6. Aren’t these eucalyptus seed pods gorgeous?  The blue-grey “things” are the “unripe” seed pods.  There are about 700 varieties of eucalyptus trees and can grow 6-12 feet a year.

nuts_sitting_on_tree7. These “ripe” seed pods (left) look lovely on one of the eucalyptus tree branches. If I could get enough seed pods, I could make a wreath like this.

beth_and_eucalyptus8. Another improntu photo shoot occurred among a lovely grove of eucalyptus trees. I was surprised at how well my pix of dd turned out. It was fun pretending to be models and photographers.

path_at_pt_pinole9. The path split into two and we took the one less paved. We figured that the bikers with training wheels and the school of marshmallow gun-toting kids would take the better paved paths. We were rewarded with an intense quiet for our ears and a reddish marsh for our eyes to feast upon.thistles

10. Isn’t this a lovely plant? Maybe a thistle? My talented dd took the photo.

think_shoe111. Then back home for a nap. I love naps.  🙂  Well, I napped, dd painted the laundry room (purple) at the apartment complex where she works. Then homework, dinner and after some fooling around we finally settled down in order to think and do more homework. The night ended late, but it was a perfect blend of play, rest and work.

I am very grateful for the beauty in people and places that I was a part of today. For what are you grateful?

Entry filed under: Gratitude List, Main. Tags: .

My Ten Digits of Gratitude Another Day of Gratitude – 12 Things

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Duker  |  . at .

    Susan
    I feel like I went on a mini trip with you !! SO glad to hear that you had a wonderful time and it sounds like you were rejuvintaed.
    Loved the photos too. My brain didn’t have to work near as hard trying to visualize.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

    Thanks, Duker. I like photos too. It was fun playing around with the camera with my dd. Yes, I am rejuvinated. And ready to tackle work. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Theresa  |  . at .

    Ok, I looked here yesterday and this post didn’t show up! That’s strange! Love the pics… so your sis isn’t the only one in the family good with a camera! :o) It looks like you had a really good time and saw some cool stuff.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Elizabeth Symington  |  . at .

    I just noticed that in the concrete photo after Einstein, one of the graffiti tags says “mom”. Did u do that? I bet you did when I wasn’t looking. That was a fun day! I look forward to lots more field trips with you.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 750 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


