4 Ways Grief Has Changed My Beliefs

. at . 11 comments


The loss (divorce) which brought on this grief first led me into hiding and then into discovering who I am. Grief has forced me to look at my beliefs.

Here are 4 ways grief has changed my beliefs.

  1.  I am learning that while some people cannot be trusted, God can be trusted . . . despite what the circumstances look like. I’ve been knocked down into the deepest grief I’ve ever felt and I am returning to joy. God has provided my needs for emotional support, finances, housing, and a direction for the future. God doesn’t have a hidden agenda. He will never leave me, forget me or abandon me.
  2. I’m (mostly) ok with my “why” questions not being answered. I previously thought that since God didn’t answer my “why” questions, He must not be trustworthy. I struggled with this untruth for decades. I don’t know all the details to God’s plan for mankind as a whole and as individuals. But I do know that He has a plan that cannot be thwarted. And for Believers, good will come out of it.
  3. Knowing when to ask for help is healthy. Asking for help doesn’ t mean I’m weak, silly, or dumb. It means I’m human. It means I am acting how God made humans to act. We are made to encourage one another, pray for one another and help one another with our giftings, time, and money.
  4. I choose life. The constancy of my grief finally pushed me to make a decision. Will I stay in the fetal position of defeat and pain or will I get up and move on into God’s good plan for my future? Death of life? I choose life.

How has grief changed you?

Below are some helpful resources.

  • This song (Praise You in the Storm) soothes me and reminds me Who is my help when I’m grieving.
  • Here is information on coping with grief.

Entry filed under: divorce, Grief, Learning. Tags: .

Time to Pray Away Love If Google Doesn’t Have God’s Phone Number, Try This One

11 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
4 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 646 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When


