Choosing the Right Elevator Pitch by Answering 2 Questions

. at . 5 comments

393711_lift_wellSowing words of hope, instruction, and grace to help women grow beyond their fears and limitations.

That’s my elevator pitch for this blog.

Why am I thinking about an elevator pitch? Darren Rowse (from Problogger) is leading a 31 Days to Build a Better Blog Challenge. The elevator pitch is day 1’s assignment.

What is an elevator pitch? Darren quoted wikipedia for the answer: “An elevator pitch is an overview of an idea for a product, service, or project. The name reflects the fact that an elevator pitch can be delivered in the time span of an elevator ride (for example, thirty seconds or 100-150 words).”

I answered the following 2 questions in order to define the purpose of my blog.

  1. Who is the audience I want to reach?
  2. What problem/need am I trying to solve?

Darren also suggested that the pitch be short, clear and use strong imagery. Go here to read the whole post. Will you share your homework with us? You already saw my answer.

What feedback do you have for my pitch?

Entry filed under: Learning, Main, Writing Challenges. Tags: , .

3 Dozen Scone Mixes? 4 Differences Between Acute Pain & Chronic Pain

5 Comments Add your own

  • […] in ” 31 Days to Build a Better Blog “. It starts today, but it’s not too late Choosing the Right Elevator Pitch by Answering 2 Questions – fruitfulwords.wordpress.com 04/07/2009 Sowing words of hope, instruction, and grace to […]

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Gina  |  . at .

    Aloha Susan!
    Well I am so happy to be led to your site. I love your pitch (elevator)….women need hope, instruction and GRACE!!!! Great choice of words. I look forward to hearing more from you. Looking forward to today’s assignment! (still early here on Maui). Aloha~ Gina

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Amy Dumas  |  . at .

    Wow Susan, That’s a Great elevator pitch. It makes me smile, and it definitely makes me want to spend some time on your blog. I’m currently working on today’s challenge, well… surfing and working and checking email and working, but hey, I’m getting there.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Maddy  |  . at .

    Newbie. Yes defining a purpose is a useful first step. That’s a super elevator pitch.
    Cheers

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. susan2009  |  . at .

    Thanks for the encouragement. This was a helpful exercise. I’ll have to revisit it so that I can continue to narrow my focus.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
9 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 730 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


