November 10 – Photo of the Day = Gratitude

. at .

mirror pictures 006Who are am I? When I look in the mirror am I really seeing me? Or some glorified or demonized version of myself? One way I can accurately see myself is through my relationships.

“The people we are in relationship with are always a mirror, reflecting our own beliefs and simultaneously we are mirrors reflecting their beliefs” (Shakti Gawain). “The people with whom you interact show you who you are and ultimately provide you with an opportunity to love yourself” (Dr. John Demartini).

Have you heard that the frustrations we experience with others are really frustrations we have with ourselves? I.e. If I am upset with my mom because (imho) she is a know-it-all , maybe one reason I am upset with her is because I do the same thing. (True story.) Dr. Demartini takes this idea one step further. “There is truth in the statement that what we dislike in others, we haven’t learned to love in ourselves.” Ouch.

“At times it can be difficult to see that we have the qualities and talents we admire in other people. But it can be even more of a challenge to accept that we also possess the traits we don’t like in others” (Dr. John Demartini). Today I will look at the mirror and discover who I am, good and bad. And I will make changes according to this information.

This gratitude thinking is helping me to see that I’d like to make some changes. I’d like to exhibit more patience, goodness and self-control. I want to show the kind of love that looks for more opportunities to give of my time, talent and money. (See “Everyone Can Help One Child,” said Twila Paris.) I echo the words of Michael Jackson in his song Man in the Mirror .

I’m grateful for change, the kind that I can make and for which I am responsible. All this gratitude thinking is helping me see that I really do HAVE lots to acknowledge. And making some godly changes is an appropriate response.

Finally, I’m grateful that making changes is not something I do on my own. In fact, God has custom designed a plan for my life. And He has given me His Holy Spirit so I can change in order to fulfill those plans. “God planned for us to do good things and to live as He has always wanted us to live. That’s why He sent Christ to make us what we are.”

Previous Photos

Other Related Posts:

P.S. Ann Tatum is hosting 30 Days of Thanksgiving. She encourages us to daily share our gratitude. Click here and be sure to scroll to the bottom of the post and click on Mister Linky. Then you’ll be able  to read other participants on this thankful journey.

Entry filed under: Gratitude List, Learning, Photo-a-day, Prayer. Tags: , , .

November 9 – Photo of the Day = Gratitude November 11 – Photo of the Day = Gratitude


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
8 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


