Reading Dry Spell is Over

. at . 6 comments

Reading is as much a part of my personality as is the color of my eyes, my sense (or lack) of humour and how I walk. However, the last 7 seven years I didn’t do much free-choice reading. I read because I had to for school. And many times it was plain difficult to make myself read and more importantly interact with the material.

Wahoo! That dry spell is now over. I WANT to read. But I am feeling overwhelmed at the choices. The library holds thousands of free alternatives, the used book store is a haven of titles to devour, Amazon one-click is an addiction I admit to and of course my own personal library houses many, many choices.

 What to read first? And then next? I wanted, I needed, a plan to get me started.

Then I remembered seeing (online somewhere while browsing) reading challenges. I cobbled together several lists and came up with one that fit me. I love it when a plan comes together

Tell a bit about your reading.

  1. Where do you mainly get your books from?
  2. How do you decide which books to read?

Related Posts

Entry filed under: Books.

The Tomb is Empty Stain or Pattern: Reflections on Focus

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Duker  |  . at .

    Susan,
    I get many books from a good circle of friends and then I frequent the used book store in Rancho Cordova, plus there are always books on my birthday/Christmas wish list…. I like getting and giving books to friends who I know will pass on the treasure when they finish to someone else.
    When I get my books I like to keep them all in the same pile and read a different genre after every fisninshed book. Like, if I just finished a mysterey then I may chose a non-fiction or a love story. I like to mix up my reading lists and I ALWAYS have an open book going. right now I am doing 2 a Sandra Brown and a Christian non-fiction called Fres Faith.
    Good Stuff. To coin a phrase from Finding Nemo and making it my own.
    Books are our friends !

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      I agree, The Book Worm in Rancho is a good place to go. I am now getting into passing along books. Mainly because I am finally reading books that others will want to read. 🙂 I just passed along 20 Wishes to Debbie to read.

      I like your method of mixing it up regarding genre. (I like to say that word – genre.) I’ll have to try that myself.

      Oh yea , Books ARE our Friends!

      Like

  • 3. Brenda  |  . at .

    Oh where to start, where to start. There are many, many good books out there but I try to get mine for free. So its the library for me. I keep a list and reserve them on line. That way I don’t waste precious reading time searching for a book. The library has everything, so I only use Amazon for reference material that I will use over and over.

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      I like the idea of free especially since these past years I’ve spent hundreds of dollars on books.

      What are the top 3 books on your list?

      I like the idea of having a list so that time isn’t wasted and you remember what it is you wanted to read.

      Like

  • 5. lynette  |  . at .

    Whew! I was getting concerned, you looked a little dry to me;).
    My books mainly come from the library. Also buy books at the Bookworm on Sunrise Blvd.

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      lol. I am dry indeed. That’s one reason the henna tatoo on my foot is still vibrant. 🙂

      Aren’t we fortunate to have a library and the Bookworm so close to us?

      Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
4 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 752 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


