Friday’s Favourites – 9/3/2010

. at . 16 comments

Writing a gratitude list is something I like to practice from time to time. Sharing my 5 favorite things/activities from this past week is a fun way to do this.

First Last Saturday while in Colorado Springs I explored a cool spice shop, Savory Spice Shop. I went with a long time friend and co-homeschool pal (Peggy!). I came home with four jars of spices: a pink Himalayan salt (most ancient of salts), a powdered honey and 2 bottles of peppercorns. The jar contained 4 colours of peppercorns: pink, white, green and black.

Second New small groups are starting at CNC the week of October 10th. Carol is facilitating a group for the women on Wednesday nights. We met this week to go through the book Untamed by Lisa Harper. I’ve read 3 chapters so far. It’s about how unexpected Jesus and His ministry are. Already some of my assumptions are being challenged! I can hardly wait to got through this study with a bunch of women.

Third –  My 18.5 year old dog, Chip Buff Dog Symington, is doing well health-wise. He is energetic, talks to us a lot, and wants to go on a walk many times in a day. I am so glad he is recovering from his allergies, asthma issues and collapsing trachea. Although last night I did say to Elizabeth, “Right now I wish that Chip would act old!” I attribute this to the steroid and Ambrotose he is taking.

Fourth My favorite place to eat is at Yogurt Monkey. Such delish frozen yogurt flavours. My new fav is pistachio. Of course my daughter and I went this past week to celebrate. We make up all kinds of things to celebrate.

Fifth My favorite place to rent a movie is from redbox. In the Colorado Springs airport there was a redbox. I guess they are serious when they say it doesn’t matter to which Red Box you return your movie. My daughter and I tried to watch 3 movies this past week. 2 didn’t get past the 20 minute mark (City Island and The Dairy of a Wimpy Kid). The movie we enjoyed was The Last Song with Miley Cyrus. Warning – this movie will make you cry.

NOTE: Want to join Friday’s Fave Five hosted by Living to Tell the Story ? Go here for the details. Thanks to Brenda’s Blog from Paraguay and Lynette Joy for this post idea. I’ve read many of their Friday’s Fave Five. Be sure to let us know (in the comments) if you do write a post so we can read it too.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , , , , .

How to Get Unstuck (from Grief) By Using a Wishes List 10 Goals to Discover Who I Am & Where I’m Going

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gattina  |  . at .

    your dog is more than 18 ?? that’s a miracle !!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Jientje  |  . at .

    I’m glad your dog is reacting so well on his treatment. 18,5 is a very respectable age, but we want to keep our animals with us for as long as can, don’t we? My cat is 17 years old and still very healthy as well. I have never heard of powdered honey before, but I absolutely love my Himalaya salt.
    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Cindy  |  . at .

    Spice shops are neat ideas, we have one called the root cellar.

    When we were in the US I went to this red box, my first experience was not getting a movie out of the box after renting it. We phoned the company they were great about us not having to return something we didn’t get although the receipt said we got it.

    I love to invent celebrations also, thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply
  • Going to a yogurt shop and making up reasons to celebrate sounds like my kinda thing! That is so fun! =D

    And the spice shop also sounds unique and enjoyable.

    Have a great weekend and Happy FFF!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Susanne  |  . at .

    Susan, welcome to FFF! So glad you joined in with us looking for blessings from the week!

    Your dog is 18? That is incredible!

    I would love a go to a spice shop! I’m afraid I would be spending lots in there.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Melli  |  . at .

    Oh I just love walking into a spice shop! Mmmmm… the aroma…

    How nice that your pooch is recovering well! 18.5 is a LOT of years. My Jewel is only just turned 10 – and she ACTS like she’s 18! Until the UPS man arrives…

    You know, where frozen yogurt… or CAKE… is involved, you can never have too many celebrations! I took a shower 3 days in a row! PARTY!!! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Jerri  |  . at .

    Welcome! We’re glad you joined us.

    I would love to visit a spice shop. I’ve heard of the pink salt. I would like to try it.

    I love redbox! It’s so convenient – and cheap.

    I like inventing reasons to celebrate, too!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Hazel  |  . at .

    Ah it’s fun to make up things to celebrate. Your dog is 18 – amazing! Thanks for the visit at my nook and for the birthday wishes.

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Lisa notes...  |  . at .

    Wish I could smell those spices through my computer. Sounds delightful. Enjoy your small group – that sounds delightful, too! We love Redbox. When we get a movie that ends up being bad, I don’t feel guilty not watching all of it. ha.

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. scrappygolden  |  . at .

    Wow – and I thought my 10 year old dog was old! LOL! 🙂 Congrats on better health with him – we went through something similar a few years back and it’s so nice to see them feeling good.

    I Redbox! For only a dollar you don’t feel bad if you stop watching a movie because it’s no good.

    And we have Penzey’s Spice here in Dallas and I sure need to get over there again. I can ALWAYS find something that needs to come home with me!

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Casondra  |  . at .

    The spice stores sounds like a fun time.

    I watched Last Song with my daughters last week, and while I didn’t think it would be that good, I watched it because they wanted to. Of course, I ended up bawling while watching it.

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. Brenda  |  . at .

    What a surprise to open this link and find a post from you! My favorite yogurt when I am in Sacramento is Yogurt Monkey too. And I love redbox, but we mostly get our movies from Netflix.

    Sounds like a great week!

    Like

    Reply
  • 13. Moira  |  . at .

    Isn’t the Himalayan sea salt awesome?!? I discovered it a year ago at a local health food store and it is all we use now. My oldest dd has only one kidney so we have to limit salt intake and her doctor suggested sea salt as an alternative to table salt.

    I am so glad your “puppy” is doing well! It seems you have given him much love and care and a long, happy life that is continuing. Amen!

    We love RedBox, too. Unfortunately the nearest one has a habit of eating the returned discs, so I have to call at least once a month…I have started turning down free movie codes LOL because its not the company’s fault the machine is the way it is.

    Like

    Reply
  • 14. Laura  |  . at .

    Welcome to FFF!

    Redbox is great, isn’t it? I like the public library, too. Your book study sounds great.

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 15. Karyn  |  . at .

    Welcome to FFF! I enjoyed reading your list of favorites. A spice store sounds lovely – just to go in and sniff. 🙂

    Glad to hear your dog is responding well to meds. We have an older dog as well (tho not as old as yours) who is adjusting to life with medication. (Actually, I’m adjusting to it more than he is)

    Hope your Bible Study group is everything you expect!

    Like

    Reply
  • 16. faith  |  . at .

    what a great list! We don’t have the yogurt place in our area….at least not in the part of NYS that I live in. sounds yummy!!!

    Yay for small groups! The one I am leading is starting up on the 23rd…..there are 8 of us studying the book “Got Teens?”….it should be fun and informative and I am praying that the Lord would draw us closer together as we share about what works for us and our teens……have a blessed weekend!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
8 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


