Friday’s Favourite’s – 9/17/2010

. at . 10 comments

I have been living life more intentionally these past few weeks. Now that I participate in Friday’s Fave Five,  I pause throughout the week to savour the moments of blessings as they occur. One reason I do that is so I will remember what happened so that I can share on Friday. To share your blessings go to Living To Tell The Story to link your post.

1. Friends. This week I spent time with a woman I’ve known for several years. She is a young mom with four children. Her life has been very different from mine in regards to culture, familial relationships, and religion. Her life, at times, has been difficult, but she perseveres. She laughs, loves and listens to me. And I listen to her. We are friends.

This week I also spent time with a woman who I am getting to know. Her background and culture are also different from mine. But we are the same in our devotion to our family and our ministry. Her eyes sparkle when she talks about her little guy and her husband. She is devoted to her pre-k students (in Sunday school.) We also shared laughter and conversation. I am going to like developing this friendship.

2. Secret Friends. The Secret Sister Program at CNC concluded last Saturday with a Reveal brunch. The 35 participants were able to find out who was praying for them these past 6 months. The woman (Barbie) who prayed for me also became a new friend because she was new member of our women’s ministry team. We’ve been doing things together, like kayaking and eating from recipes that she just has to try. I never knew that she was my secret sis! While this is mainly a prayer ministry, Barbie’s notes, and little gifts, like fresh cherries and popcorn, were thoughtful, inexpensive, and made me feel liked and appreciated. I loved knowing that someone was praying for me daily!

3. Alumni Friends. Thursday I talked to two students who graduated with me from William Jessup University. We went through the 2 year program in the same cohort. Van was at my church on Thursday doing a bike tune-up on our youth pastor’s bike. (I introduced them.) I get to catch up on news with Cindy next week. We graduated in 2006 and have hardly communicated with one another since. I hope today’s conversations change that lack with these two relationships and with the others in our cohort.

4. Preaching Class. Pastor Mike is teaching us about expository preaching. There is no agreement on a singular definition. We did agree that expository teaching is on the decline. Respect for the ministry is on the decline too. Hopefully our instruction will help us reverse these declines at least in our spheres of influence. I am so excited because my sista is going to join the class. That will make it 3 men and 2 women in the class.

5. Job interviews. My daughter went to SF this week for two job interviews. One was a framing shop and the other was a ceramics shop. Both interviews went well. DD should hear today whether she’s been hired at one or both places. I am praying that dd’s job search comes to an end soon and that the right job grabs her and hires her! I’d love to hear her carefree laughter again.

Your Turn

What blessings have you savoured this week?

Related Posts

Visit My daughter’s

Visit My  Sista’s Website: jennyarnez.com

Entry filed under: chronic pain, Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Writing Challenges. Tags: , , .

8 Routes to Receiving Prayer at CNC How to Be Happy, Healthy and Holy

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susanne  |  . at .

    Your week sounds like it had some precious friend time. A week always go better with that. I love that picture. Is that you? It is just exudes joy!

    Saying a prayer for your daughter for just the right job for her.

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Susanne, I love that picture too. I took it last Thanksgiving (2009) at the beach in San Francisco. It is our new tradition to take our meal there to feast, play and enjoy one other’s company. The laughing beauty in the picture is my daughter.

      Thanks for the prayer. My daughter is working as I type this. She will be teaching at a framing shop. And she is thrilled that it is a “green” company!

      Like

  • 3. Casondra  |  . at .

    Friends are the BEST!!!

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      I soooo agree, Casondra. I am glad that I writing down some of my times with friends so that I can remember them.

      Like

  • 5. Jerri  |  . at .

    We used to have the secret sister program. I really enjoyed it! Glad you got to spend times with friends. Friends are such a blessing!

    Hope your daughter gets the job that is just right for her.

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks, Jerri. My dd did get one of the jobs she interviewed for last week. And she is working there today. She thinks it is a good fit. I hope it stays one.

      I agree, obviously, that friends are a blessing. 🙂

      Like

  • 7. Cindy  |  . at .

    This week has blessed you with friends I can see. I hope all goes well with your daughter and she hears about her job before the day is out.

    Like

    Reply
    • 8. susan2009  |  . at .

      Yes, it has been a good week for my daughter. She is NOW working at the framing shop. One of her duties is to teach customers how to make the frames themselves. She is thrilled!!!

      Like

  • 9. Ellen  |  . at .

    How great that you’ve developed these friendships. It must be fun to finally find out who your secret sister is. Did you guess before?
    I’m all for expository teaching in fact we are in a church hunt right now and it’s important to us that the pastor preaches that way. We aren’t into story telling from the pulpit.
    Have a great weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. susan2009  |  . at .

    Ellen, I did not guess. And I was soooo surprised to find out who it was.

    Cute way to express it – “story-telling.” 🙂

    It is a good weekend. Thanks. Now I am going to take my Sunday nap with my 18.5 year old dog, Chip. We both look forward to this all week.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
7 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 731 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


