Friday’s Favourite’s – 10/15/2010

. at . 6 comments

This week’s post on blessings is sponsored, as usual, by Susanne’s Living to Tell the Story. Here are my Friday’s Fave Five . . .

  1. 1. I am grateful for going down two pant sizes. I did buy one new pair of pants. Unfortunately I can’t do more shopping. Because of shoulder and wrist pain, I cannot pull up the pants to try on more.
  2. I am grateful for my Untamed (name of book) small group. We started up this week. I always appreciate the opportunity to get to know myself, God, and others better during the course of a small group. I think these 14 ladies may be some of the best ladies at CNC!
  3. I am grateful for the stars that wink and shine from a black sky. They remind me there is more to the story. There is more to them than meets the eye. Isn’t that usually the case with almost any situation or person.
  4. I am grateful for words. Isn’t their power – for good or ill – amazing? Some powerfully good words I’ve heard this week are as follows: (1) “Blessings on your head.” A friend says this every time we leave each other’s company. (2) “Suzy Q, how ARE you.” This is how one friend typically greets me on the phone. Her nickname for me brings back fond childhood feelings. (3) “Aunty, I have a soccer game on Saturday. Do you want to come?” Of course, dear child. It feels great to be part of a family support system. (4) “Hi Mom. I love you.” Whenever I hear or see these words, on Facebook or a text, I glow. I wonder if there are any  more precious words than these. (5) “May I help you?” Sometimes I just can’t do something on my own. A friend helped me rescue a cat that had been abandoned. Thank you, Friend.
  5. I am grateful for one more week with my dog. Chip, my 18.5 year old miniature poodle, hasn’t felt well for several days. I will spend a good portion of today snuggling with him.

Your Turn . . . What are some things for which you are grateful for this week?

Related Posts

  1. Easiest Weight Loss Tip EVER . . .
  2. I’m Having a Small Group Attack
  3. How to Get Out of the Gutter (quote & comment about stars)
  4. “Don’t Worry America, Mum’s Got Your Back” (words that encourage)
  5. Feeling Full on Gratitude (picture of Chip)


Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , , .

10 Acts of Kindness Ideas 3 Conditions to Finding God’s Will

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura  |  . at .

    Wow — down two pant sizes? That’s great!

    “There’s more to the story” — I love that! Indeed, there is.

    I have a Chipper dog, too, and he’s 14. His days are numbered, and I’m doing a lot of snuggling with him, too.

    Happy week ahead.

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks for visiting.
      Yes, it is good to be drop 2 sizes and yet I seem to focus on the down side – pants that don’t fit and that I need to drop at least 2 more. Thats; why I need to do FFF so I concentrate on the blessings too.
      Have a good week cuddling your “Chip.”

      Like

  • 3. Blessings  |  . at .

    Hello, nice to meet you! I have enjoyed your post very much…We have a very spoiled Siamese Cat named Harley whom gets cuddled constantly…We would miss him sooo…
    Congrats on your weight loss!
    I especially love your #3…blessing the elements~~ God has given us to enjoy on our stay here on earth
    ~~HUGS~~
    from Michigan

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Donnetta  |  . at .

    Thank you for stopping by My Quiet Corner! Your visit brightened my day!

    If I could go down even one pants size I’d probably try to find a way to make it meet all 5 of my fave’s for the week. Ha ha… Good for you!!

    Your small group sounds so warm and welcoming. I, too, enjoy the stars, especially on a clear evening.

    And as for words, my hubby and I have been doing a lot of talking lately about the impact they have… both good and bad. Some things worth pondering…

    Hope your dog is feeling better soon!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Susanne  |  . at .

    2 pant sizes! Good for you, that is an awesome accomplishment. Hope your wrist is feeling better soon!

    Words are absolutely powerful for the good and the bad. Those are awesome words you’ve had this week.

    I can totally relate to your last one with your dog!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

    Blessings – Thanks for visiting. The “song” on your playlist is a blast. The first time I heard it, I thought there was a fly in my offfice. lol. Nice site. I especially like Sunday, Oct 17th’s post: Attitude of Gratitude.

    Donetta – You made me laugh. I really should have made it all five. I guess I am always heading towards the next goal without taking time to appreciate the one I’ve just hit.

    Susanne – Again, thanks for hosting this meme. I also appreciate that you go around and comment on everyone’s site. You are very encouraging.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 762 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


