Becoming a Godly Husband Book Summary

. at . 2 comments

In 2008 while in seminary (Western Seminary) I took a class on Loving God and Loving Others. Two of the books we had to read (and then summarize) were Becoming a Godly Wife and Becoming a Godly Husband. The summary for Becoming a Godly Wife is here. This is my summary of Becoming a Godly Husband.

Jokes abound on how hard it is for a husband to understand his wife, please her, or to love her in a way that matters to her. This book, Becoming a Godly Husband by Dr. Gil Stieglitz, takes the mystery out of these worthwhile and marriage-changing endeavors. By following the advice written in the form of the acrostic H.U.S.B.A.N.D., men can successfully understand, please, and love their wives in ways that matter to them. The acrostic stands for H-honor, U – Understanding, S – Security, B – Building Unity, A – Agreement, N – Nurture, D – Defender.

This book gives men practical tips and exercises. If followed, husbands can “encourage, develop and release [their wives] to achieve [their] maximum potential for the glory of God” (11). A great side benefit is that the wives will learn it is safe to trust, respect, and follow their husbands.

As a woman I had conflicting emotions while reading the book. I felt like I was being treated like a child needing the guidance of someone “older and wiser telling me what to do” in order to successfully navigate life. And paradoxically I found myself yearning for this type of relationship.

I reacted to the material in this fashion for three reasons.

  1. Society. I had subconsciously adopted society’s message that there are no differences between men and women (roles, abilities, reactions, etc.). In this context that would mean that a husband does not have a particular ministry for and obligation to his wife and visa-versa.
  2. Sadness. Reading the various points and examples of the acrostic showed me how my marriage was not like this. I would have liked to feel emotionally, physically, and spiritually secure with my husband. I am sad that we did not have the material from this book[1].
  3. Doubt. According to the marriage models I’ve seen, I doubt that many husbands would be interested enough or motivated enough to make these godly husband principles a part of their long-term thinking /behaviors. Although, I would love to see marriages operate this way.

Obviously since I am not a man or a husband, I cannot use these principles in a marriage. But I have started using the points in the book as journal prompts. In journaling these issues I am seeing more clearly my false ideas and where forgiveness for my ex and even for myself needs to take place. I am very sad while journaling, but I am hoping that someday I will be released from the pain as I truthfully face these issues of abandonment. I am also praying the principles for my son for when he gets married (no plans yet).


[1] And the material from Becoming a Godly Wife

PostScript: It is now November 2010 and I am doing okay. God has been faithful in this healing journey I’ve been on.

Entry filed under: Books. Tags: .

Friday’s Favourites: November 26, 2010 CNC Women’s Regifting Christmas Party, Saturday at 2pm on Dec. 4th

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brenda  |  . at .

    Hmmmm, I like your summary and I would like to peruse the book, but so often these things are written from a culturally bound viewpoint and I tend to have a little trouble with them when they suggest that the ideas are Biblical. On the other hand, there are always nuggets of truth we can pick up and apply to our lives when we read these things.

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      If you ever want to borrow my book you are welcome to do so. I would love to get your feedback.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
9 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 730 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


