5 Reasons I Love My Country (FFF)

. at . 17 comments

Since today is Friday, it is the day I  list  5 blessings from the past week. Since I am also doing this “5 Things I Love About …” series and today’s topic is My Country, I am combining the two. Today I will write about the things I love, or am grateful for, regarding my country.

Several times on my blog and at Facebook I have expressed my appreciation for my country, the United States of America. I’ve said how blessed I am to live in a country that is governed by the people for the people. I have also expressed my appreciation for the men and women in the armed forces who fought for America’s freedoms and who help us keep them.

So today I will list 5 other things I love and for which I am grateful.

  1. Beauty. Natural beauty is seen in mountain ranges, forests, national parks, waterways and oceans, prairies, wildlife and vegetation from the west to east and north to south borders. Listen to John Wayne recite a poem about America’s beauty. We also have created beauty in our architecture (I.e. bridges and certain cities), art (housed indoors and outside), apparel and jewelry, and functional pieces.
  2. Creativity. Last year Americans filed 400,769 patents. This makes America second on the country list. We see a problem and figure out how to solve it, many times with an answer that hasn’t been tried before. Some American inventions are as follows: air conditioning, baby buggy, Barbie doll, baseball, blood plasma, blue jeans, cell phone, Coca Cola, Corvette, door knob, helicopter, Internet, Jazz, peanut butter, presidency, steamboat, telephone, television, Tupperware. Go here, herehere, and here (inventions by state) to read more about these and other inventions.
  3. Freedom. Our country was founded on a unique governmental structure and certain guaranteed freedoms for her people. Our country has welcomed a wide variety of cultures, ethnicities and races to America and these freedoms were extended to them as well. Because ideas, norms, and preferences of many different people have come into America, America has become a melting pot of thought and behavior. There is not one right way to do or think about many issues. In many cases America has been enriched.
  4. Kind, helpful spirit. Give us a disaster or oppression and we step in to help within our country and within our world. Our many governmental programs and charities give aid to many kinds of people in many kinds of trouble. Americans as a whole are not stingy with their time and resources.
  5. Work. I am appreciative that people living in America have the ability to earn a living independent of the government’s initiation and oversight. This country is still the land of opportunity where hard work, ingenuity, and perseverance pay off. Each individual is free to pursue their own (legal or course) passions without governmental restrictions.

Your Turn  . . . Why don’t you tell what five things for which you are grateful? Living to Tell the Story is hosting this weekly Friday’s Fave Five. To join us in the conversation, go to this link.

This is the 4th post in the “5 Reasons I Love . . .” Series.  Go here for the original post which explains how this idea came about. Tomorrow’s posts is 5 Reasons I Love My Church.

Click here for the complete list of posts in this series (scroll to bottom of the page).

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , , .

5 Reasons I Love My State 5 Reasons I Love My Church

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathie  |  . at .

    Your country is awesome!! I’m so glad we’re neighbours 🙂

    Happy weekend!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Kathie, I think that your country is awesome too. I graduated from Peter Pond Junior Senior high school in Fort MacMurray, Alberta. I lived there for 1 1/2 years before moving to Oregon for college.

      I loved living in Canada and could easily do a 5 Things I Love About Canada.

      Like

  • 3. Lisa notes...  |  . at .

    There are indeed SO many beautiful places in our country. I am thankful for that too. We definitely are a creative lot, huh? We are really, really blessed here. Thanks for your list.

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      There are so many beautiful places and sadly, Lisa, I have not seen very many of them. Maybe I should make a bucket list of beautiful American places to visit.

      Like

  • 5. Melissa  |  . at .

    I agree! When we listen to the media, it’s easy to forget what a blessed place we live in. Thanks for this reminder!

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      I agree, Melissa. The media over-reports on the trauma and ugliness in America. I guess it is up to us (bloggers) to over-report on the America’s beauties (people, landscapes, programs, etc).

      Like

  • 7. Ellen  |  . at .

    What a great idea for FFF. We really do have a great country. I’m praying God protects us from evil. I’m trying to enjoy the beauty of our world more and more. Have a great President’s weekend…

    Like

    Reply
    • 8. susan2009  |  . at .

      That is a prayer I join you in, Ellen. I am trying to enjoy more of what I have too. That is one reason I am doing this series.

      Hope your weekend is great too.

      Like

  • 9. Willow  |  . at .

    Yes, when we compare our country to so many others, we are very blessed. Recently I read about another country and the terrible situations that shoddy clerical work creates and I’m thankful for efficiency, patents and the encouragement of creativity.

    Like

    Reply
    • 10. susan2009  |  . at .

      Clerical work certainly impacts every type of government from local to national from private to public. I know that when I don’t do a good job administratively (at home and work) others are impacted.

      I don’t even realize until I do a post like this how blessed I am regarding creativity, etc. I take so much for granted.

      Like

  • 11. Brenda  |  . at .

    There are SO many things we can be thankful for about our country, its nice to take the time and detail a few of them out.

    Like

    Reply
    • 12. susan2009  |  . at .

      I enjoyed writing this post, Brenda. I first brainstormed my ideas. I had a hard time limiting it to 5.

      Like

  • 13. Susanne  |  . at .

    Both the U.S. and Canada have so many wonderful things about them. It’s good to reflect on everything we have to be thankful for living in them.

    Like

    Reply
    • 14. susan2009  |  . at .

      I agree, Susanne. Canada also has many lovely things about it too. I lived there for 1 1/2 years and have some first hand knowledge. Someday I will write a post about Canada’s beauties.

      Like

  • 15. Catherine  |  . at .

    Thank you for your post. We are so blessed to be American!

    Like

    Reply
    • 16. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks for visiting. It was beneficial for me to write this. I want to become a more grateful person and thinking about such things does remind me of my many blessings.

      Like

  • […] My Country […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
8 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


