5 Reasons I Love My Support System

. at . 1 comment

Womb babies can suffer great distress when their external environment is chaotic and unloving. Infants can die without adequate nurture and touch. Children can develop severe personality disorders when affection and protection are withheld. Many adults can’t distinguish between healthy and unhealthy relationships when they’ve suffered a lack of continuous, positive companionship. In summary, all people from pre-birth to death need a support system in order to live (physically and emotionally).

This is a 5 point tribute to my support system.

I love my support system because . . . 

1. My support system is made up of blood-family. Not all blood relations are part of my support system. Some  I’ve never known well. Some I’ve lost track of or they’ve lost track of me. Some are not safe people. But a few certainly qualify as support “staff.”They have known me the longest and seen me grow the most. And they are still around. They are faithful to our relationship. They keep me grounded and bring out the best in me. I love them because they are part of my past, present, and future.

2. My support system is made up of adopted-family. Because of moving around so much, I have few friendships older than 20 years. I have many friendships in the 1-10 year range. Some of these friendships (old and newer) have moved into “adopted” family. They help me debate my internal lies and tell me when I need some growth in an area. They help me play and work well. I love these folks because they accept me for who I am today not for who I will become tomorrow.

3. My support system includes God. The Triune God has a vested interest in how I behave today and tomorrow. He has given me talents, skills,and interests in order to pursue a specific, good future. God knows ALL about me (even the parts of me I deny, don’t know, or flat-out ignore). And still He loves me and in fact will never leave or forsake me. I love God because He first loved me. He showed me how to love and then He empowered me to be able to do so.

4. My support system includes mentors and characters from books. I have always been a reader. I have always been affected (good and ill) by what I read. These mentors, heroes and heroines (real and fictional) have shown me how to keep loving God when life is full of horror (The Hiding Place) and how to rejoice when life is full of promise (Little Women). They have given me ideas I never would have thought of on my own (The Knowledge of the Holy). They encourage me to persist (Fox’s Book of Martyrs). I can learn from their mistakes and good choices. I love these people because I can learn from them what it means to live life well.

5. My support system also needs to include me. I can be my worst enemy even when surrounded by the best of all support systems. I can be my greatest aid and cheerleader even when surrounded by neglect, hate, and harsh actions. I need to recognize, except for God, none of the other support staff will be able to give me 100% support 100% of the time. Nor can I do that for anyone else 100%  of the time. But I am the one who determines how beneficial the other 4 groups on my support staff are. I belong to God and I want to treat His daughter and “property” well. So choose to love me because I’ve been fearfully and wonderfully made for a purpose.

I truly am blessed by a marvelous support system. I pray that I stay attuned to this blessing until the day I die.

Your Turn . . . Who is part of your support system?

  • Who would you like to thank?
  • What surprises have you come up with in thinking on this topic?
  • What books have meant a great deal to you and why?
  • Is God part of your support system? Why or why not?

This is the 7th post in the “5 Reasons I Love . . .” series.  Go here for the original post which explains how this idea came about.  Tomorrow’s post is 5 Reasons I Love My Hobby.

Related Posts . . .

Entry filed under: Gratitude List. Tags: , .

Goal Planning Monday Helps Me Achieve Quiz Shows What Women Won’t Find At Retreat June 10-12, 2011

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
8 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


