5 Reasons I Love Blogging (FFF)

. at . 26 comments

Social media has captured the imagination, time, and resources of people with access to a keyboard and internet. This media has changed the world in terms of news, privacy, and international friendship. One aspect of social media is the blog.

A blog is a hard thing to define. For some it is a recitation of daily events in their life. Others use their blog as a platform to teach. Some use it as an extension of their work or hobby. For many it is a combination.

My blog is a combination. I use it to teach, to share personal events and observations, and to advertise what’s going on at work. I’ve been told that blogs really do best with one focus. So far I haven’t found that one focus (like Organize With Sandy). My one unifying goal is that all that I write is positive, unifying, and can lead to fruitful action.

My original intention for my blog was to “chronicle my work at church and my school studies” as a way to be focused and accountable.

My blog’s focus has changed though through nearly 5 years of blogging. Here are 5 reasons I love blogging.

1. Helps me think. Whether I am writing about an upcoming event, a personal tidbit, or a teaching, I need to stop and set aside time to think. Blogging helps me to sort out my thoughts. Form opinions.

Sometimes in the process of writing and rewriting, I discover what I truly think about a topic. A time or two I’ve discovered that what I thought didn’t make sense. Blogging is helping me to find my voice, to find out who I am. And how to be a clear thinking woman.

2. Helps me integrate life. I am inclined to run through life thinking on the next object, project, or person to tend to. I have a hard time thinking and being in the moment. “It takes about eight seconds of intense focus to process a new piece of information into your long-term memory.

Blogging helps me to take 8 seconds and more to think on new information. This writing while thinking helps me to lay claim to more memories. More of life is integrated into my memories. I can better learn the lessons of life. And I have more fun.

3. Helps me interact with a wider circle of people. Because of the types of blogs I tend to read and the types of subjects I tend to write on, I usually interact with women. But these women are from all over the world. I.e. I like reading about life in PEI, Thailand, San Francisco, and Alaska. I am getting to know these ladies from their blogs and comments. Some are getting to know me through the same.

Some bloggers (in addition to family and friends who blog) have become part of my life. I read  Pro Blogger and Be Different Act Normal almost daily. I am part of 2 weekly meme’s (rhymes with dreams) where I share my thoughts according to the topic: Friday’s Fave Five and Goal Planning Monday. Besides sharing my blessings and goals, I am getting to know a community who is doing the same.

4. Helps me learn new things. I like to visit a variety of topic-oriented blogs. These include adult crafts and children’s crafts, books, food, religion, and personal growth.  Because of being part of the RevGalsPals blog ring, I am learning what it means to be a women in ministry.

Each type of blog meets a certain need or wish I have. Things I’ve learned from blogs: how to make tea wallets and bottle cap magnets. I’ve baked cinnamon cream cheese pockets pies. I’ve learned about children’s ministry. In 2008 I was part of a decluttering challenge that gave me motivation and tools.

The cool thing about learning from a blog, is that a person (the blog author) is also attached to that learning. So while I am learning something new, novel, useful, or entertaining, I am also connecting with a person.

5. Helps me make a difference. Many people want to leave a legacy after they die. They want to know that their life mattered and that they made a difference somewhere. I am such a person, too.

I know from some comments and emails that I have made a difference, albeit a tiny one, in some women’s lives because of my blogging. Sometimes I write something that meets a need. Or it changes a perspective. Sometimes I have been a small channel of healing. And other times my blogging has shown that we women are more alike than not and so why not be accepting of one another.

Your Turn . . . What do you love about blogging?

Related Posts . . .

If you’d like to participate in this week’s meme, Friday’s Fave Five, list your blessings at Living to Tell the Story, in the comments, on Facebook, or on your own blog. Let’s keep the conversation going.

This is the 9th post in the “5 Reasons I Love . . .” Series.  Go here for the original post which explains how this idea came about.  Tomorrow’s post is 5 Reasons I Love My Sista.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Main. Tags: , , .

Come to Retreat June 10-12 Because . . . 5 Reasons I Love My Sister

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jerri  |  . at .

    You expressed so well all the reasons that I blog! (I’m still searching for a “voice” for my blog as well – I’m interested in so many thngs!)

    I think your #5 is especially my main reason for blogging. Anytime that someone tells me that something I wrote encouraged them, I am deliriously happy!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Yes, being interested in so many things is certainly a downfall for me as well, Jerri.

      I do love your introduction about yourself. I don’t think you are Pollyanna-ish, but someone i would like to meet. Also love that you “never give up.”

      Like

  • 3. jharader  |  . at .

    I’ve had the same struggle about “defining” my blog. Thanks for articulating some of the same conclusions that I have come to–namely that the process of blogging is valuable for me. Blessings.

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      It seems like there are a lot of us “undefined bloggers” out there. I am hoping as I continue blogging that I will find and refine. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  • 5. Colleen  |  . at .

    I agree with your thoughts about “lack of focus.” Life is never that singular in my opinion. I am doing different things and having lots of different thoughts every day. “Eclectic” is a word I like to describe my brain and my blog. ;o)

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

    lol Colleen. I never heard anyone describe their brain as eclectic before. I may have to use that for me as well. 🙂

    Your blog is eclectic eclectic and interesting!

    Thanks for visiting.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Ellen  |  . at .

    I love this FFF. I, too, really enjoy blogging. It has opened up the world to me in ways I never dreamed of…

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. susan2009  |  . at .

    We are definitely living in a cool time – technology-wise. Thanks for visiting me, Ellen, in my corner of the world. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    I love all of the same things you listed about blogging, and hearing that something I felt God wanted me to write was a help to someone else gives me great delight.

    I like blogs that are eclectic, even though the experts say it’s best to find one focus.

    Besides reasons you listed, one additional reason I started a blog was to learn to write by writing. Having to clarify things and trying to cut out excess while still being clear is a good exercise. I’m still too wordy, but I’m improving.

    Like

    Reply
    • 10. susan2009  |  . at .

      Great additional reason to blog, Barbara. I am definitely getting better at writing because of writing and thinking about it so much. It really is an art to write succinctly.

      BTW – Thanks for this helpful book review: Living with Purpose in a Worn-out Body: Spiritual Encouragement for Older Adults. I have been looking for such a resource.

      Like

  • 11. Catherine  |  . at .

    I love this post. I didn’t even have a blog a year ago, and didn’t really know what to do with the one I had until about December. Now I know all the things you describe, ane I couldn’t imagine life without my blog.

    Like

    Reply
    • 12. susan2009  |  . at .

      I never would have guessed, Catherine, I’d become so attached to blogging. Isn’t it funny how “technology” can bring about depth and become such a part of our lives?

      Like

  • 13. claudiawjohnson  |  . at .

    I love that I’ve gotten to know you better through blogging. It’s been fun. I was so discouraged about my blog on hydroponics the other day, but woke up with such a sweet comment from you. The friendships have been the best part, but I’ll be glad when I complete this year challenge!

    Like

    Reply
    • 14. susan2009  |  . at .

      it has been fun getting to know you too, Claudia. I am glad that I encouraged you.

      I am continually amazed at the topics you write about. Your writing clarity and application to my life are two things I appreciate about your posts.

      Wow – a whole year of daily writing. As a reader that is awesome. As a fellow blogger and writer I recognize the commitment.

      Like

  • 15. Susanne  |  . at .

    I love blogging for all those very reasons that you have mentioned! The friendships are my favorite part of blogging.

    Like

    Reply
    • 16. susan2009  |  . at .

      That is one big advantage blogging has over books in my opinion, Susanne. You can have real time interaction with blog authors and form real time friendships.

      Like

  • 17. Laura  |  . at .

    What do I like about blogging? What YOU said! Those are all great reasons.

    It’s been great for me, too, to connect with moms. I feel my ministry is really to encourage moms, so it’s a perfect avenue for that. I’ve met some wonderful bloggy friends!

    Have a great week!

    Like

    Reply
    • 18. susan2009  |  . at .

      Laura, your encouragement ministry to moms fills a valuable need. And you write so well too. I am glad to read and benefit from your posts.

      Like

  • 19. Brenda  |  . at .

    I love all the same things about blogging but sometimes I regret the time that it steals away from actually reading books.

    I don’t think we need to worry about having undefined blogs unless you are looking to make money from your blog. General interest blogs are great in themselves.

    Like

    Reply
    • 20. susan2009  |  . at .

      Good point, Brenda. My blog is not a money-making venture, so I don’t need to fuss about my lack of blog purpose and focus. Thanks for that reminder.

      Like

  • 21. Willow  |  . at .

    Like several of the others who have commented, I like what you wrote about blogging. My favorite part has been that I’ve met people I would otherwise have never met and some I’ve even gotten to know face to face. It’s been a great blessing for me. Another reason I love blogging is that it has provided a place for me to display my photographs–that has meant a lot to me.

    Like

    Reply
    • 22. susan2009  |  . at .

      I have been blessed by your photography too, Willow. I appreciate that you post those for all of us to enjoy.

      I typically put my pictures on Facebook. I don’t know why I don’t put them on my blog very often.

      Like

  • 23. jen  |  . at .

    Got me thinking about why I blog. It started out just for my amusement. Now I find I like reading blogs and connecting with other people I wouldn’t have an opportunity to meet out side the blog world. Thanks for sharing!
    Have a great weekend.

    Like

    Reply
    • 24. susan2009  |  . at .

      i like what you share on your blog, Jen. That quote on your sidebar 9by Donald Horban) keeps me company as I am on this major decluttering project.

      This connection piece of blogging is one reason I don’t think that blogging will ever die.

      Like

  • […] Blogging […]

    Like

    Reply
  • […] 5 Reasons I Love Blogging […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 751 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


