Breaking the Silence to Breathe Out Gratitude

. at . 32 comments

“Silent gratitude isn’t much use to anyone.” G.B. Stern

Without further delay, here are 5 things (out of many I could list) for which I am grateful from this week.

1. God’s encouragement. I had a disappointing meeting with my doctor on Tuesday. While my left broken humerous is healing, I am way behind on the range of motion in that arm, way behind. On Wednesday morning the LORD encouraged me with this: “Don’t tremble with fear. I am your God. I will make you strong as I protect you with My arm and give you victories” (Isaiah 41:10).

I heard this song for the first time this week: “No Matter What” by Kerrie Roberts. “Anything I don’t have You can give it to me, but it’s ok if You don’t, I’m not here for those things, the touch of Your love is enough on its own, no matter what I still love You and I’m gonna need You.”

2. Comfort food. A friend not only brought over dinner, milk, eggs, flowers, a candle, and snack foods, she brought over tapioca. Ohhhh, certainly a comfort food if ever I tasted one!

I was a Monkeys fan, but I never heard this song, “Tapioca Tundra,” before. After listening I can see why. Are you familiar with it?

3. Meds that works. I’ve had some high pain days. I am so grateful that I’ve found some pain medication that works. It helps me to be able to sleep and then wake up feeling refreshed.

4. Secret project. My daughter’s birthday is coming up. She is an artist. I am not. But sometimes I come up with a creative idea which I then get someone else to implement. A very creative friend is helping me with a secret birthday present. It won’t be done by her birthday (May 31st), but it will still please her no matter when she gets its.

5. Reconnection. I connected with 3 people this week. That feels good. They were important mainstays in my life at one time. We got to talk about what’s new. We got to talk about God. We got to talk about our friendship. I was truly blessed by our time together.

I sure love these friends and the many others who are part of my world. I can count on them and they on me – in good times and the bad. “That’s What Friends Are For!”

Share your blessings in the comments. Or write a post and link it up to Susanne’s Blog, Living to Tell the Story. You’ll find Friday’s Fave Five here.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Main. Tags: .

goals for the week of may 23, 2011 My Goal Planning Monday Goals are S.M.A.R.T.

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary  |  . at .

    I haven’t had tapioca in forever! Love it! visiting from FFF!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

    Thanks for visiting, Mary.

    I had tried making tapioca last week and I ruined it. I mentioned this to my friend and that’s why she brought me some of that delectable pudding.

    I am off to visit your FFF post now. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Carrie, Reading to Know  |  . at .

    I’m still recovering from a c-section and I heartily agree with your pain meds that work! =D They ARE a blessing. (And my recovery is going slower than I’d like so I feel your pain there as well.) Pardon the pun. But, as you say, God can encourage us even in this and through this.

    Blessings on you this weekend!

    Happy FFF!

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      Oh, Carrie, sorry to hear about your struggle. At lest I only have to care for a 3.8 pound 19 y.o dog. I hope you are getting plenty of help. And yes, we both can count on God’s continued encouragement.

      Like

  • 5. hip chick  |  . at .

    well, you may not be recovering as quickly as you would like but you are recovering and that is a good thing. I have never heard thata song by the monkeys but i love tapioca.

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      You are right, hip chick, I must keep my eyes on the goal and the progress that is happening. I usually do look at how I am doing compared to last Monday and that is how I need to keep my focus.
      Thanks for the encouragement.

      Like

  • 7. Lisa notes...  |  . at .

    I don’t recall Tapioca Tundra either. Glad your friend brought over comfort in many ways. So sorry you’re still in such pain. But thankful you’re finding some meds that will help. Always a blessing.

    Like

    Reply
    • 8. susan2009  |  . at .

      After reading the lyrics, Lisa, I find not one word of tapioca. It is just a weird song. I had googled “songs with tapioca” to see what would come up.

      I am feeling much better today. I had a GREAT night’s sleep.

      Like

  • 9. Laura  |  . at .

    Susan, Kerrie Roberts was my student! I directed her in plays and loved the heart that shows through her music. I hadn’t heard that song, though. Wow, it’s something to be blessed by a former student of yours.

    Praying that your arm will heal quickly and well — and for patience for you as well.

    Like

    Reply
    • 10. susan2009  |  . at .

      What a small world, Laura! You get to add another blessing to your list today. 🙂

      Yes, patience and keeping a proper focus are two things I need to keep doing. Thanks for those prayers as I know they work.

      Like

  • 11. Faith  |  . at .

    what a wonderful list of blessings and faves! that song is played alot on the radio out here in my part of NYS. Love it!! and yeah for friends, reconnecting, and comfort foods…..

    Like

    Reply
    • 12. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hello Faith. I am so glad i heard No Matter What. It is becoming one of my favs. I had gotten out of the habit of listening to the radio. I much prefer the silence, but then I don’t get to hear these types of encouragements.

      Like

  • 13. Jerri  |  . at .

    Good for you, on being creative for your daughter’s birthday! I’m sure she will love it, no matter what.

    Reconnecting with people is so awesome. A true friend is one that you can pick back up in the friendship no matter how long it’s been.

    I’m also glad that you were encouraged, and that the pain meds hleped you. God bless!

    Like

    Reply
    • 14. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks, Jerri, for visiting. I will go read your post after I am done commenting. These posts are a great way to get to know folks. Plus I find myself feeling extra encouraged after I’ve spent some time reading all these FFF.

      Like

  • 15. Ellen  |  . at .

    I’m glad you were able to reconnect with old friends. Your comfort food sounds delicious. It’s been a while since I’ve had tapioca…yum.
    I’m glad you received the comfort you needed from God…

    Like

    Reply
    • 16. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks, Ellen. I am so glad that I participate in FFF. It is a great way for me to remember and dwell on all these blessings. It sure makes a deference to my peace of mind.

      Like

  • 17. Brenda  |  . at .

    As hard as those times of pain and stillness are, I know from experience that God can use them to work great good in our lives. Hang in there, and keep being thankful. Hope you start feeling better soon.

    Like

    Reply
    • 18. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks, Brenda. I am receiving your words of wisdom especially since your circumstance was much graver than mine.

      God is always faithful and His “intervention” into my quiet time is just one tiny example. I am keeping up with my daily gratitude list and that is helping me as well.

      Like

  • 19. Olive Tree  |  . at .

    Susan, I hope your pain will go down soon. It’s not easy to be reduced in movement and rely on others, but I’m sure soon you’ll recover and go back to your normal functioning. I’m happy to be part of FFF. Thank you for your kind words during your visit to mine. Have a wonderful weekend to you. Hope that birthday gift for your daughter will work out well 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 20. susan2009  |  . at .

      I am feeling so much better today, olive tree. it is amazing what a good night’s rest can do for one’s spirits. you are right, it has been very humbling to have to rely on others. So glad this is not a permanent condition. as soon as the birthday gift is done and delivered, i will post it.

      Like

  • 21. Gattina  |  . at .

    That’s sad that you are still suffering. Some painkilliers help, some not, good that you found the right once.
    Reconnecting with people is nice ! Two of old friends found me through Facebook where I never go, lol !

    Like

    Reply
    • 22. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hello Gatina,
      I found several old high school friends through Facebook as well. However, I check there most days 1-2 times a day. it has been a great tool for work. It is amazing the things you find out. It’s been helpful to know how to pray for folks and who needs a visit.
      Thanks for coming by.

      Like

  • 23. Susanne  |  . at .

    I loooove tapioca pudding. Yum, now you have me craving it. :v)

    Saying a prayer that your range of motion improves exponentially by the next doctor visit so that he will be shocked at the improvement!

    Like

    Reply
    • 24. susan2009  |  . at .

      Susanne, that has been my GOAL! Thanks for praying that very thing. I have been diligent about my pt and I see great improvement.
      I think I will try making tapioca agaon today. I have milk that needs using and it requires the opening of NO jars or cans.
      Have a great day.

      Like

  • I’m sorry you are not healing quicker.. but I’m glad you feel the comfort of your Father’s arms. I’m in quite a bit of pain right now, too, so I have empathy for you. I’m glad you are getting some relief, and some sleep. I can’t wait to read about your daughter’s birthday present!

    Like

    Reply
  • 26. susan2009  |  . at .

    So sorry for your pain, Catherine. I hope you are finding comfort from God and people during this time. Of course last night was a BAD night for sleep. But I’ve always had sleep problems; it’s just that now it bothers me more. I guess because of the healing. I will share the project soon. It is only a little something, but I think she’ll love it.

    Like

    Reply
  • 27. Melissa  |  . at .

    I don’t know that Monkees song, either, but I agree that tapioca is an excellent comfort food. It’s one of the foods I purchased on my pre-op grocery trip. 🙂

    I’m with you, too, on Isaiah 41:10. A friend wrote that in a card of encouragement to me last week, so it’s been on my mind.

    I’m glad that you have a secret project and reconnections to refresh your soul … and painkillers to help you sleep! Keep taking care of yourself!

    Like

    Reply
    • 28. susan2009  |  . at .

      I am striving to make good self-care a priority, Melissa. I haven’t been too good at that in the past and it has been to my detriment.
      I sure appreciated your posts about combating smelly shoes and the power of encouragement. You keep on taking care of yourself too!

      Like

  • 29. Mama Manuscripts  |  . at .

    I thought I was the only one that thought of tapioca as a comfort food! It was my staple food when I was feeling under the weather a couple weeks ago!

    I am glad to hear that you are indeed healing. I cannot imagine the pain you are feeling and I know that it feels like it is taking forever and the news that you received is discouraging but you are healing. I will be keeping you in my prayers for patience at this time.

    Have a good week and I cannot wait to see the project for your daughter!

    Like

    Reply
    • 30. susan2009  |  . at .

      Imagine my surprise too about the popularity of tapioca. So glad, Katrina, that this luscious food brought you a measure of comfort. Did id make it or buy it pre-made? Thanks for the prayers and encouragement.

      Like

  • 31. Willow  |  . at .

    Oh, tapioca! It was my daughter’s and my comfort food every Tuesday night one year when we were home alone together! Mmmm.
    So pleased you were encouraged by The Word, and your friends this week.

    Like

    Reply
  • 32. susan2009  |  . at .

    Love that tradition, Willow. I might have to institute that one for myself. Did you always use the same recipe? I think if I ever do a giveaway, it will be a 6 pack of tapioca! Thanks for visiting me. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
6 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 740 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


