My Goal Planning Monday Goals are S.M.A.R.T.

. at . 3 comments

I know the key to having a successful to-do list:  make it reasonable by making the items S.M.A.R.T.  The one to-do I consistently have trouble with is the one that is not S.M.A.R.T. That goal is about sleep. I have stated as my goal “to do all I can to sleep better.”



What I Will Do This Week 

  S Specific I will be more specific in clarifying what I expect of myself.
M Manageable To make it manageable I will only list 1-2 to-dos instead of  listing every idea I have regarding sleeping better.
A Attainable Regarding attainable, I will write only what I can control. I.e. I cannot make myself sleep, but I can modify my schedule, environment and routine to make it conducive to sleep.
R Relevant To see is my goal is relevant, I need to ask myself, “Is this goal something that I really want to work on now?” Since I keep having trouble achieving good sleep hygiene, I need to see how relevant this goal is to my life at this time.
T Time-bound Time-bound goals have target dates, deadlines. I usually respond better to deadlines and so I need to incorporate this into my sleep goal.

Below are my goals for the week. Please share your weekly S.M.A.R.T. goals with us in the comments. Or write a post and link up at Mama Manuscript’s meme titled Goal Planning Monday.

1. Exercise

  • Walk 25 minutes 3 times a day.
  • Do passive resistance exercises 4-7 times a day. Incorporate changes from Tuesday’s Dr. appointment.
  • Soak in hot tub or bathtub with Epsom salts 4 times a week.

2. Work: 2-4 hours a day: depends on what happens at my Tuesday doctor appointment

Children’s ministry

  • Write letter to teachers/helpers.
  • Make 10 calls for children’s ministry.
  • Finalize Summer schedule.

Women’s ministry

  • Get together with Marsha regarding retreat notebook (proofread, etc.) – Contact her on Monday to see when.
  • Get & send final retreat details to LaRee by Monday.
  • Sort out carpooling for retreat by June 3rd.
  • Let all know who their room mates are.
  • Decide and buy “decorations” for pail design.
3. Miscellaneous
  • To sleep better at night do these 2 things. (1) Find and order book that Dr. Oz recommended (by next Monday). (2) Journal about my sleep issues to determine if this is something I really want to make a priority now (Saturday).
  • Write in my gratitude book daily (with a gel pen in a notebook with purple paper it’s quite fun)
  • Finish reading the book of Isaiah.
  • Check in daily with maximize your mornings group.
  • Batch cook 2 meals for my freezer. I am feeling stronger and able to do more, so there is no reason I cannot make my own meals now. It just takes me longer because I am slow.

 I participate in Goal Planning Monday so I’ll have a record of what I complete each week. I’ll also have a tool to energize my (sometimes) flagging motivation to complete (1) the jobs I tend to avoid or (2) jobs that get overshadowed by the urgent but not necessarily most important items on my to-do list.

Click on the “more” button to see last week’s goals. 

1. Exercise

  •  Walk 20 minutes 3 times a day
  • passive resistance exercises – incorporate changes i get from tuesday’s dr. appt
  • soak in hot tub one time a day – didn’t happen every day. The water and air temps were too cold to make it worthwhile.

2. work: 2-3 hours a day – depends on what happens at my Tuesday doctor appointment

children’s ministry

  • sort out curriculum (to start mid june) for children’s church
  • calls for children’s ministry

women’s ministry

  • finalize retreat booklet (info from speakers, what to cut from last year’s book)
  • wm team meet to finalize other retreat details
  • study doubting Thomas passage – will not be preaching after all.
3. miscellaneous
  • do all i can to sleep better at night – still having troubles
  • write in my gratitude book daily (with a gel pen in a notebook with purple paper it’s quite fun)
  • read Isaiah
  • check in daily with maximize your mornings group
  • work on surprise for my daughter’s birthday – a friend is helping me. When it is all done and delivered, I will post pix.

Entry filed under: Main. Tags: .

Breaking the Silence to Breathe Out Gratitude Writing Down and Reading About Blessings Make You 25% Happier

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mama Manuscripts  |  . at .

    I may have to share your SMART goal planning with my group (if you don’t mind). It is certainly a good way to look at things.

    I hope that you are able to get some better rest this week. It certainly sounds like you will be busy!

    I hope that you have a good week!


  • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

    Hi Katrina- use away as they are not unique to me. I believe that many people use the “m” to stand for measurable. But I like manageable better as I tend to try to do too many things at once.

    I hope to have a good week too especially since it will be a short week on account of the holiday. At least I have a good guideline as to what I need to accomplish.


  • […] to share them here so let me know! For this week I am going to send you over to Susan’s at Fruitful Words to see how she makes her goal planning […]



Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
4 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 645 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When


