Noticing Some Details of Life

. at . 4 comments

Jan from RevGals offers this Friday Five:

Stairs to creativity always include flowering plants!

I am currently reading a book entitled Stairway of Surprise: Six Steps to a Creative Lifeby Michael Lipson. His premise is a quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson: “I shall mount to paradise by the stairway of surprise.” Lipson’s book is about practicing or developing six inner functions–thinking, doing, feeling, loving, opening, and thanking.So these categories of attention are a jumping off point for today’s Friday Five:

Pick five of the six actions and write about how you are practicing them today or recently. For a bonus, write about the sixth one you originally didn’t choose!

What or how are you . . .

1. thinking? I am planning how to take my summer bucket list ideas and make them into doable action steps.

2. doing? After I write this, I will do physical therapy exercises and walk.

3. feeling?  I am tired (didn’t sleep long enough as the sun always wakes me up). But I am feeling encouraged by the work I accomplished the last week. It was my first week back after medical leave and  there are lots of “hot” projects to finish.

4. loving? I am loving that my nieces came home from youth camp with memories of fun and a strong desire to love Jesus.

5. opening? I opened my sliding glass door blinds and door to let in the sun and cool morning air.

6. thanking? I am grateful for a daughter who shares her healthy food ideas with me. I.e. Folks with gallbladder issues should eat beets and okra. Now that I have both I am wondering how I am going to cook the okra (no deep fat frying) and eat it. And I am praying I can have a thankful heart as I eat these vegetables.

I am interested in reading the above mentioned book especially the chapter on thanking.

Your Turn . . . Why don’t you share your answers to one of more of the above questions?

Entry filed under: Main. Tags: , .

5 Blessings from Retreat 2011 Writing a Letter to Each Person in my Address Book

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jan  |  . at .

    Thank you for stopping by my blog with your encouraging words. I am sorry that you are struggling and hope that each day is better than the one before. Now I have to go and look at your label “letter writing,” as that has always been a love of mine, though I am more likely to be a “note” writer these days.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

    Thanks, Jan, for your encouragement. I am getting stringer each week. It is soooo coincidental that you mentioned my letter writing category. This is a third Sunday and I planned on writing about this topic today. I look forward to reading more from your great site, Yearning for God.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Joolie  |  . at .

    Thanks for stopping by my site. I hope you found something good to do with the okra. I enjoy beets, but have never gotten anywhere with okra. Peace.

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      To be honest, Joolie, the okra is still sitting on the counter. I’ve had it before and it was slimy. I soooo need to just cook it up and mix it with rice as that’s what my dd does.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 762 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


