Sweet Blessings Recounted for Friday’s Fave Five

. at . 12 comments

My week is FULL of blessings. Below are some of the atypical ones.

1. June 17th. I felt great (emotionally) last week. June 17th did not bring even a twinge of grief. This is the 2nd year that June 17th felt like a normal day. Wahoo! In a perfect world we would have been married 29 years. (Instead married 20 years and divorced for 9.)

2. Address book. I am going through my hardbound address book and writing letters (on paper with a pen!) to all in my book. I am reminded of how many people have blessed me with their  advice, kind actions, friendship, and prayers. Go here to read more about my Address Book Project.

3. Church. I went to church for the first time since April 16th (when I broke my shoulder). It was great to see everyone, worship and listen to the sermon in person. I love my church! Go here for 5 Reasons why!  

4. No Nervousness. I was asked to make some announcements in church on Sunday. And for the first time EVER I wasn’t nervous talking from the pulpit. I even felt comfortable enough to share my bad and good news. Bad news: I am progressing s-l-o-w-l-y in physical therapy and I am not able to play the piano. Good news: I have never been able to play the piano. Silly I know but HUGE for me.

5. Small Group. Our 66 Love Letters small group started back up on Wednesday. We have 4 new ladies! We split the 21 ladies into two groups. I am grateful to Lynette for being the facilitator for group 2. I loved facilitating group 1. I have missed the ladies and the material. Another praise – the book just came out in paperback, so the new ladies were able to pay a discounted price!

Please share some of your favourite blessings from this week gone by. Tell us in the comments. Or write a post and link up to
Susanne’s Friday’s Fave Five. While there be sure to browse her blog, Living to Tell the Story.

Related Posts . . .

  1. 20 Ways I Handled my Breaking Heart (from divorce)
  2. Letter Writing Meme for 3rd Sunday
  3. Eight Surprising Things You’ll Find at This Church
  4. 35 Reasons it is Beneficial to Attend a Small Group

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Main. Tags: .

Goal Planning Monday for Week of June 20th Rolls and Buns: A Communication Mishap

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa notes...  |  . at .

    I love the address book project. How wonderful! You are going to bless SO many people through this.

    I just got “God’s Love Letters to You”. It is a 40-day devotional book based on 66 Love Letters. Loved the book; I’m sure the devotional will be good too.


    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      I haven’t heard of the devotional. I will check it out. Lisa. This book has been eye-opening to a lot of us in the study. Our 2 “favourite” sentences are (1) We are all self-centered. (2) Life is full of suffering even for godly Believers..


  • 3. Ellen  |  . at .

    I am really impressed that you are taking pen to paper and sending people letters! That is a great project. Glad you were able to attend church and get through announcements. You are cracking me up with your piano good and bad news. Hope you have a good weekend and that your shoulder gets better and better with your therapy…


    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks, Ellen. My shoulder is getting better each week.I look forward to when I don’t have to spend so much time on physical therapy. Glad I made you smile as that is not typical of my nature. 🙂


  • 5. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    Susan, I loved reading how you broke the good/bad news to your congregation. The address book project sounds amazing. I wonder how long it will take you! I was sorry to read about the 20+9, but am glad that you are holding up.


    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      Nikki, I am looking forward to working on the address book project for a year. I don’t want to rush myself and lose the joy of the project. Thank you for your kind thoughts.


  • 7. Susanne  |  . at .

    What a great idea that address book project is.

    I’m glad that you are finding some healing for your heart on what would be a difficult day.


    • 8. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks, Susanne. Sometimes it seems like healing takes f-o-r-e-v-e-r. And then it is a surprise when it shows up. God is so gracious to me in this area.

      I wonder what I will learn with my address book project. it will be fun to see.


  • 9. Brenda  |  . at .

    You have some pretty big things to be thankful for this week! #1 is very touching.

    Nice joke with the piano🙂


    • 10. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks, Brenda. I didn’t actually realize there were so many blessings until I sat down to write this post. This certainly is a great “exercise” to do. Too bad it didn’t burn calories.😉


  • The piano made me laugh!

    I’m glad your anniversary was not so painful, and that you did so well in front of your congregation.

    Enjoy writing your letters. I just did a review that talks about what a treasure handwritten letters can be.


  • 12. susan2009  |  . at .

    Thanks for telling me, Catherine, about your post on the value of a handwritten letter delivered to the person of your choice after your own death. For anyone who wants to read this, click here.

    Writing a letter to my children and a few others is something I want to do before I die. I wish I had some words from my mom to read after her death.



Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
4 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 645 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When


