One Word Blessings

. at . 14 comments

Can you name 5 blessings from this past week using just one word? I did. Of course I used a few more words to explain them. Why don’t you share your blessings too? I linked up to Living to Tell the Story‘s Friday meme Friday’s Fave Five.

1. Cooling – as from the air conditioner. I HATE hot weather and that’s what CA (typically) has in July. But I don’t suffer too much since there is a very able air conditioner at work, and home and in my car.

2. Colleagues – I am back at work full-time now. I am sooooo appreciate of my work mates who “held down the fort” while so many of us have been gone. Their attitudes are awesome and they don’t look too beleaguered. Our boss came back to work this week too. It is great to have “our visionary” back.

3. Holiday – Love what the 4th of July stands for in America. I also love having a day off. I mainly spent it on the dynasplint.

4. Improvement – I’ve been using the shoulder dynasplint for one week now and I’ve seen a noticeable difference. Well, really, my physical therapist pointed it out to me today. 3 more weeks of using it should see even more changes (I pray).

5. Potluck – I went to 2 this week. (1) One was at my sista’s to celebrate the 4th. I brought Red, White and Blue Jello and my potato salad (the best in the world). (2) The 2nd potluck was with my Wednesday night Women’s small group. We are going to do this once a month. I bought tuna sandwiches from Subway. Why is it that food seems to taste better when you share it with family and friends?

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Main. Tags: .

Women’s Kayaking Trip Saturday, July 30th Recounting Blessings from a Reluctant Heart Improves My Mood

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hip chick  |  . at .

    I love the fourth of July also. My favorite holiday. And, I just peeked at your woman’s kayaking trip…fun!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hi Hip Chick, it used to be Christmas was my favourite holiday, now it is also the 4th! I went kayaking last year and it was a blast. I won’t go this year because i am being very careful about my shoulder (mending from a break).

      Like

  • 3. Karen  |  . at .

    Love your #3. The fourth is one of my favorites, too. How nice to work at a place where you really like your coworkers!

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      Yes, Karen, I am very blessed. I will sometimes ask in staff meetings, “Is this unusual that we get along so well?” I think I will have to stay agt this job until I die! 🙂

      Like

  • 5. Brenda  |  . at .

    I love potlucks too, its so much fun to sample the food that everyone brings.

    Your potato salad looks good, but it’s probably not as good as mine 😉

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      Brenda, lol. I sense a potato salad throwdown! Someday we will have to end up at the same potluck both bringing our salad for a vote. 🙂

      Like

  • 7. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    I’m with you on the AC. I’m in TN but it’s plenty hot here. I honestly don’t know how I’d cope without AC.

    LOVE potlucks!

    Glad you’re seeing improvement!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Ellen  |  . at .

    I’ll have to try that one word trick soon. Sounds like a great week! I’m way out of touch for sure cuz I can’t remember the last time I was at a potluck. Have a great weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Willow  |  . at .

    Independence Day is always a happy holiday. And you don’t have to buy presents!
    We often do a potluck with our small group on Sunday evenings. It’s always so much fun to enjoy food and fellowship with good friends.
    I’m glad you’re back to work!

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Susanne  |  . at .

    Food does taste better when shared with those we love. Your potato salad recipe looks delicious.

    Glad to hear that dynasplint is working for you!

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    I like Willow’s comment about not having to buy presents on Independence Day. No cards either 🙂 I think you’re right about sharing food. Glad you got to enjoy the potlucks this week.

    Like

    Reply
  • I’m so glad you’re shoulder is improving! It probably feels good to be back to work – for you and your co-workers! I love potlucks with friends or family. How nice that you’ll have one to look forward ot each month!

    Like

    Reply
    • whoops, that should say “your” shoulder. I switched thoughts mid sentence and didn’t go back to change the spelling.

      My first thought was glad you’re healing.. then decided to be more specific.

      Like

  • 14. claudiawjohnson  |  . at .

    Love the 5 blessings and glad you’re up to cooking. Interesting about the dynasplint. Praise God for wonderful things like that. We have our son visiting us for another day then back up North. We’ll travel back home to Bangkok in another two weeks. So many awesome blessings, we can’t count them all.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
9 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 728 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


