Using your Name to Spell Gratitude

. at . 2 comments

How many ways have you expressed gratitude? I have expressed gratitude in many ways. Some of these ways were through . . .

Today at RevGalBlogPals we are asked to do the following for Friday Five:

A wise person once told me to make an ABC list of things I am grateful for any time I feel sad or depressed. It is a good practice when one is feeling happier than that, too. So for this Friday Five, I suggest that you use your name or nickname of about five letters and express your gratitude about something that starts with each letter. Some people have longer names, so you decide how you will go about this! (Last names, middle names, and nicknames count!)

Here’s my name, Susan, as a gratitude list.

S – Sunshine. I woke up this morning thinking how grateful I am for the sunshine. (I am not too grateful for HEAT!) The sunshine invigorates me, makes me healthy (vitamin D), grows my plants, and makes life seem happier.

U – Underwater. I have been doing many of my physical therapy exercises underwater this week. The pool water is kinda cool, but once I get going, the water temp feels fine. Doing the exercises in the water is a change (I get bored easily with exercises), I can do more without hurting myself, and it is more fun since I pretend I am a mermaid. (I recently watched the series H2O: Just Add Water. Very cute.)

S – Sounds. Or really the lack of sounds. I live in a (usually) quiet apartment complex. When I am surrounded by too much noise I get cranky. So I really appreciate the consistent solitude  my home offers.

A – Animal. Chip is my animal companion. He is a miniature toy poodle who has lived with me 13 years. He is 19 years old, blindish (cataracts), deaf (or really good at ignoring me), and arthritic. This week Chip has been more feeble, tending to fall over way too easily. I am grateful for his constant affection towards me, his playful nature, and his determined spirit (which at other times I call stubbornness and then I am not grateful).

N – Never. I have been contemplating on and grateful for the facts that God will never forsake me, never forget me, never let me be snatched out of His Hands, and never let me die (spiritually).

 Your Turn . . . Use your name as a way to express gratitude. Share it here, on Facebook, or on your own blog.
 
Related Posts . . .
 
Entry filed under: Friday Fave, Main. Tags: , .

Recounting Blessings from a Reluctant Heart Improves My Mood 5 Reasons I Love Summer

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pamela Finney  |  . at .

    Okay, my name is Pamela, but because I want to use a Y, I am using a nickname I DO NOT like for myself, so please do not start calling me this (unless you are a former sports coach–I will give leeway then):

    P — Purpose: I feel a very strong sense of purpose in my life these days, and I am enjoying it immensely. I feel God’s plan for me (at least part of it) and am pursing that purpose of teaching and helping, along with others. I feel useful and productive.

    A — Active: I am so grateful to be active after my health battles with cancer and related issues. I am really starting to feel much more energy. With that has come not only a desire to be active but also the ability. I am involved and engaged with life and loving it!

    M — Memories: I have lost a few good friends and dear, dear family members (in one way or another) in the last couple of years and am missing them greatly. However, I am rejoicing in fond and fun memories of late. I find my solace in recounting events and wonderful shared moments, and I am grateful that I still have the ability to remember (age is creeping up…)!

    M — Medical experts: I have been so blessed these past few years with remarkable medical professionals to take care of me, to make informed and caring decisions, to show me great concern and to make me feel important and personal, and to have helped me be alive.

    Y — Youthfulness: As I approach that magic 55 (senior discounts–yeah, baby!), I am delighted to tell you that I often still feel like a kid. I enjoy fun, games, laughing, fun, teasing, playing, fun, joyfulness, jokes, fun! I plan on having fun for as long as God and my friends allow me, so look out!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

    Thanks for sharing. Lots of things to be grateful for, Pammy! No worries. I won’t call you that after this one time. I just had to throw in a little tease though.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
9 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 728 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


