5 Silly Reasons for Gratitude

. at . 9 comments

Are you part of Friday’s Fave Five? What kinds of things do you express gratitude for? I have been participating  for almost a year. At first I talked about the majour reasons for my gratitude. Now I am looking for the more uncommon things that bring joy and gratitude to my heart.

This week’s list is 5 silly reasons to be grateful.

1. Too Young. I was having a meeting with a college student. We were sharing info about our lives and I mentioned I had 2 adult children, 27 & 28 years old. A stunned expression came upon her face as she said, “I didn’t think you were old enough to have kids that old!” This surprised me especially since I have a 2-inch stripe of gray hair growing on the crown of my head.

2. Potent Kiss. Last Sunday at church I walked into the PreK room to find J sitting on the teacher’s lap c-r-y-i-n-g! I got down to his level and asked what was wrong. While pointing to his 3-year-old finger and between sobs, J got out between sobs, “He” (sob, sob) “hurt” (sob) “my finger.” (Sob, sob.) I quietly asked him if I could kiss it. J nodded yes and put his finger to my lips. After a couple of kisses, J smiled, jumped down off the teacher’s lap, and happily joined a group of kids.

3. Great Musculature. While I was getting some body work done, the therapist said several times that I have great musculature. Evidently this is mainly congenital and genetic. The bad thing is if ever I get hanged, my neck muscles are so strong that it would take a while before I ceased to breathe.

4. Slim Ankles. Last week I wore a pair of capri jeans. Several women (who are style-conscious) told me the look was very flattering and I could pull it off because I have slim ankles. Wow – I didn’t know I had slim anything!

5. Five Minutes of Procrastination. This week one of my nieces and I have been studying together. She is getting work done for high school and I am doing work for consecration. On our first day, we were well fortified with snacks (there was some healthy food too), and had all our supplies in order. I opened up the Word document for the book report I’ve been procrastinating on for months. I typed and typed and typed and typed until I was done. Yes DONE . . . in FIVE minutes!!!! I didn’t realize I was so close to being finished.

Your Turn . . . What “silly” things are in your life that bring you gratitude? Share in the comments, on Facebook, or at your own blog. Thanks, Susanne from Living to Tell the Story, for heading up this weekly meme.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Main. Tags: .

5 Reasons I Love Summer Citrus Jello Salad (Shhh! It’s a Secret.)

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura  |  . at .

    Your five reasons made me smile! Sounds like a good week, silliness and all. We all need a bit of that now and then.

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Laura, I tend to be such a serious person that seeing the silly in life is rare and hard for me. I envy those who have a great sense of humour. It has been a good week and I look forward to another great one!

      Like

  • I miss being able to make everything better with a kiss.. Three is a precious age!

    I certainly hope that you are never hanged. On the bright side, if such a horror should ever occur, your your dainty, slim ankles will be at everyone’s eye level, and your gray stripe will be covered by the hood. 😉 (I’m sorry, I’m a little bit sick and twisted!)

    Congratulations on finishing your book report!

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      Catherine, you are sooooo funny! I love how you think.

      Like

  • 5. Brenda  |  . at .

    Its so much easier to study when someone else is with you-at least sometimes. I love your silly favorites this week. Silliness is pretty much a life-style with me, but if I had to choose a silly favorite, it would be coworker who makes me laugh all the time. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Willow  |  . at .

    Kisses always make things better for three year olds–so sweet!
    Even silly reasons to celebrate are just fine–and yours really weren’t silly–I love being told I look young, or have a good or slim anything, too.
    Hurray for being finished with your book report.
    Have a happy weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Susanne  |  . at .

    Aww, those kisses making things all better are wonderful things about children.

    Wow, two compliments in one week. Whoo hoo!

    Yeah for good musculature and here’s hoping there are no hangings in your future! :v) LOL to Catherine’s comment.

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Faith  |  . at .

    aw…how i miss the days of being able to make everything better with a kiss! although I must say my daughters stil love lots of cuddles and hugs….even at ages 12 and 18! awesome list…YAY for good muscles and slim ankles!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. claudiawjohnson  |  . at .

    OK. I love this and especially the noose! Very funny! I’m sure you won’t be hanged!

    I’m very grateful that all of our luggage arrived unharmed from the US. I know it’s not very Christ-like, but still I’m very grateful!

    I’m grateful I could go to my classroom yesterday and get some set-up work done.

    I’m quietly saying that I’m grateful to have a few days by myself. It’s been a long time since I’ve been by myself and I’m not into a permanent alone time, but still it’s nice.

    I’m grateful to be home in Thailand.

    I’m grateful for my sweet family. God has been too good to me.

    Have an awesome day. It seems like you’re feeling better and I’m very glad.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 750 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


