Grateful for 5 Things Done From Summer Bucket List

. at . 15 comments

For the past 6 years or so, we’ve been having a “Make It” contest at our women’s retreats. We choose an item (for example flip-flops, pot-holder, wand) and ask the women to decorate it according to one of the three categories chosen. Click on the contest rules link “Contest_Rules_potholders – 2009” to see the instructions for the Pot-holder Make It Contest.

Last year’s (June 2011) contest item was a pail. Through a time of brainstorming, my friend Geri and I went from pail to bucket. This led me to creating a Summer Bucket List using a turquoise beach pail.

I picked 10 goals for my Summer Bucket list. These 10 things were not specifically summer oriented, just things that have been on my mental to-do list for a l-o-n-g time.

I am good at picking goals. I am good at writing out how to obtain them by mapping out a plan and a setting realistic deadline.  I am good at starting.

However, I am not too good at finishing. That’s why I look for creative ways like this to get things done. That’s why I put the retreat verse (Philippians 4:13) on the pail with puffy paint. “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” (I love using puffy paint even though it did come off in places.)

That’s why I wrote the following explanation on the required index card:Because of God’s available strength, I am able to do many “impossible” things. I.e. Lose 10 pounds, declutter, and add new healthy recipes to my cooking repertoire.

I started working on the Bucket List in Mid June. My finish date is September 30th. It is still Summer HOT here then.

I read this quote on FB the other day (thanks Anza):When you have a desire, back it up with action or let it go. To believe you want something you’re not doing anything to achieve is actually deceptive” (Buster Carter). Ouch! It made me think about my Bucket List. I decided to see how far I had come.

To my amazement, I’ve completed 5 of the 10 items. And I still have 5 weeks left! I am grateful that God indeed has helped me with these items. I am grateful that I persevered in accomplishing these 5 things.

  1. Decluttered 3 boxes. I also went through my closet and gave away some clothing that no longer fit.
  2. Finished 3 homework assignments for consecration. One of the assignments took FIVE minutes to finish. I had procrastinated MONTHS and MONTHS in doing that final work.
  3. Bought new tops that look good on me and I like to wear. Last Spring I lost some weight and have been in need of new clothing. I am still looking for trousers that fit and look good. (Shopping is such a trauma for me.)
  4. Exercised 4-6 times a week doing something I loved. Since late April I have been exercising this consistently in order to get my (formerly) broken shoulder back into shape. However, I cannot say that I have found the exercise I love to do.
  5. Had a family outing. I was able to attend a dinner party my daughter had and both my son and I were able to attend along with some of her friends. I was hoping to spend the next day with both of them, but my son became ill. Had another great time with my daughter though.

This is good progress for me. Wahoo!

The other items on the list still to do are as follows:

  • Write an e-book.
  • Finish reading the Bible and then get a new one.
  • Compile 7-10 new recipes that are healthy, tasty and become favourites.
  • Read two books for fun.
  • Lose 10 pounds.

Your Turn . . .

Where have you made good progress? For what are you grateful that you’ve finished and/or that God has helped you accomplish? Go here to read what other’s put on their Friday’s Fave Five Gratitude List.

Related Posts . . .

  1. Motivating Myself in 5 Areas
  2. Bingo Helps Me Get Things Done
Entry filed under: Decluttering, Friday's Fave Five (FFF), goals, Main, Procrastination. Tags: , , , .

Getting Financially Fit Small Group Starts September 11th Women’s Potluck September 16th, 6-8 pm

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ellen  |  . at .

    What a great idea that summer bucket is. I’m glad you were able to accomplish some of your goals. I love crossing things off a list. I like how you reworded that familiar verse. It really is amazing what we can get done or get through with God’s strength…
    Have a great weekend.

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Crossing things off a list is certainly a fave activity. Ellen, I am constantly amazed at what “I can do” because of God’s strength. My faith in Him is growing more and more because of it.

      Like

  • 3. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    A summer bucket list is a great idea. Congrats on all you got done! I started exercising this summer, too. I haven’t lost as much weight as I’d like, but I am gaining in strength and stamina.

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      I haven’t lost any weight this summer, Barbara. Wait, I take that back. I lost the 10 pounds I gained in the first 6 weeks after I broke my shoulder. Now I will shed 10 pounds between now and Christmas. Like you I did get more strength and stamina. Which is always appreciated.

      Like

  • 5. kathie  |  . at .

    Such a satisfying feeling to cross things off your list – especially things that you have been putting off. Way to go! Especially on the exercise regime. I do Pilates and I like it – but I’ve fallen off the exercise wagon since the wedding and need to kick back in gear.

    Blessings!

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      I’ve heard from many friends how they like Pilates. It is on my list to check out. Honestly though, the only reason I’ve been so diligent about exercising is because of my broken shoulder. Hopefully I will keep up with it. Hope you are able to get back to your exercise regime soon, Kathie.

      Like

  • 7. Willow  |  . at .

    Good for you getting that 5 minute job off your list. Isn’t it so true that we procrastinate for so long thinking something will take a long time and then–huh–we’re done in a few minutes!

    I’m so pleased to be knocking off the lesson plans! I don’t enjoy making them and kind of dread it so pushing through them this week has been good.

    Loved that quote. ‘Back up your desire with action or let it go.’ (my paraphrase.)

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Gattina  |  . at .

    To go shopping and buy new cloths because of loosing weight is great ! Your week was nice too !

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Brenda  |  . at .

    I love your idea of having a “pail list” for summer. I would like to do that and fill it with fun things I want to happen during the summer- because fun should be a part of every summer!

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Laura  |  . at .

    Wow — you’re halfway through. Not bad at all! I was going to ask what that wonderful exercise was until you admitted you hadn’t found it yet! :0)

    What have I finished? I submitted a bunch of articles, etc., this summer. But there are two BIG things I wish I’d had time for… They’re huge projects, though. I’m praying for some extra time to crop up so I can work on those.

    Have a great week!

    Like

    Reply
  • You’re doing a fantastic job! I have accomplished so much in getting ready for our school year, and have reorganized a closet. (I finally gave in to the idea that my dream of a gorgeous designer walk in closet is still years away, so settled for shelving from home depot and target.. lol!
    Sorry I’m late, Irene ruined my weekend plans. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. Jientje  |  . at .

    I love your bucket list, what a great idea! It reminded me I need to get some administrative chores done! I have been it putting off much too long now. I’m going to do that right away!

    Like

    Reply
  • 13. Hazel  |  . at .

    Decluttering always gives us a sense of order. Now if shopping was such a trauma to me too. I would like that. I’d be keeping, rather than spending money that should have been useful elsewhere.

    Like

    Reply
  • 14. Elizabeth  |  . at .

    Hi Mama!
    I am dropping by to see what all is going on in your busy life. I enjoyed our dinner party too. Looks like life is going well.

    much love,
    your daughter

    Like

    Reply
  • […] have many lists: : One for each season (Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall), a theological bucket list, and a Food/Technique Bucket […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 752 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


