5 Reasons I Love My Pet

. at . 11 comments

Chip's room was tee peed.

Chip’s room was tee-peed.

Americans are pet crazy. As the number of “empty nesters” is on the rise, so is pet adoption.

39% of U.S. households own at least one dog. . . . 33% percent of U.S. households own at least one cat.” In 2005-2006, 63% of all U.S. households owned a pet which equates to more than 69 million households. To read about pet trends go here.

The pet industry has not been hurt by the economic downturn as yearly spending on pets is growing. Pet parents spent $45.4 billion in 2009 compared to $38.5 billion in 2006. The money is being spent in the following categories: Food, Pet Services (grooming, boarding, doggy daycare), Supplies and Over The Counter Medicine, and Veterinarian Care (shots, dental, health issues).

While I am not pet crazy, I certainly love my pet, Chip. He is almost 20 years old (on March 12, 2012). He is 3 pounds & 7 ounces, 12 inches long, apricot-coloured, miniature toy poodle.

This post is dedicated to Chip. Here are 5 things I love about him.

  1. Sense of Belonging. Chip is always excited to see me even if it was just 5 minutes since the last time we saw each other. His excitement lets me know that he belongs to me and I belong to him. This is a great feeling since I am a divorced, empty nester.
  2. Cute. When he’s had his face trimmed, I think Chip looks like an ewok. And since he is so small, he looks like a stuffed animal. Cute combination. His cuteness is aided by his BIG heart (great at forgiving).
  3. Schedule. Dogs, unlike cats, need someone to walk, visit, feed, and groom them. These things need to happen regularly. Without such a person the dog becomes sad, bedraggled looking, and can even die. Therefore, Chip helps me have a schedule and life outside of work.
  4. Selflessness. As I mentioned, I live alone. I get to eat, clean, recreate, and schedule my schedule however I like. I can get used to this “power” quite easily. So I am glad that I have Chip around so that I am “forced” to think about someone else when I am not at work. He helps me to practice selflessness.
  5. Family! “Three-quarters of dog owners consider their dog like a child or family member and more than half of cat owners say the same.” I don’t think of Chip as a child, (although I have on many occasions called my son “Chip”). But Chip has wormed his way into my heart and thoughts. His presence fills the room and I miss him when he’s at the vet. I’ll confess. Chip is a family member.

This is the 14th post in the 5 Reasons I Love . . .” Series.  Go here for the original post which explains how this idea came about.  The next post in this series is 5 Reasons I Love Fall.

Your Turn . . . What do you love about your pet(s)?

Entry filed under: Gratitude List. Tags: , .

Thinking about Week’s Blessings Make Me Smile When I Realize I Have Enough for Today, I Am Grateful

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Denise Drake  |  . at .

    So glad Chip is still blessing your life! Our dog, Henry, is a 100+ pound golden retriever. He is a terrific companion. We mostly love him because he is friendly to almost everyone and barks and growls at anything he deems dangerous. It’s amazing that God would create such a useful and lovely animal.

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Henry certainly is a wonderful friend and protector. It is cool that God created animals like Henry with both instincts.

      Chip liked to think (especially when he was younger) he could protect us too. This was most evident when we went for a walk. Chip had to be last in line or else he’d keep barking and struggling to get behind us. It was like he was herding us. Too cute and funny.

      Like

  • 3. Elizabeth  |  . at .

    I love Chip because he’s a good cuddler.

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      He certainly is a good cuddler. And I love it when he gives me a little lick-kiss or two!

      Like

  • 5. The Crimson Rambler  |  . at .

    I learned only last week that my neighbour’s big old black Lab watches for my return home every night and won’t settle to sleep until he sees me drive in. My neighbour tells me, “I know you’re home when I hear his old tail go thump, thump, thump.” I find this infinitely touching!

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      Oh, that is so sweet, Crimson Rambler. You have stolen his heart!

      Like

  • 7. Charleen Larson  |  . at .

    Cats need the same kind of care dogs do. Even though you don’t have to “walk” them to make sure their digestive system works properly, every cat benefits from daily physical interaction with its human. We walk with our outdoor kitty Beatrice each night. It’s only 1/2 block (cats stop a lot) but we get to see the world through the cat’s eyes.

    Like

    Reply
    • 8. susan2009  |  . at .

      I have seen several people in my apartment complex that take a walk with their cats too. It is so precious to see. Until I met these folks, I didn’t know that cats do this.

      My dog likes to take a LOT of stops too! Now that he’s 19, I try to follow his agenda for a walk and not mine.

      That is a good skill to have, isn’t it, Charleen, to be able t see the world through the eyes of others.

      Thanks for visiting.

      Like

  • 9. Patricia Villanueva  |  . at .

    Susan I to enjoy my chaquita as she is little and a big bed hog.so forgiving which is a good reminder of how humans should be.mostly I like the companionship we share. happy , sad, disappointed,discouraged, what ever I need to express she will listen with open ears and a kiss or two at the end to make it all better or just to say “I am here for you” . I could not imagine her not being there she is a blessing in my life. very much part of my family.

    Like

    Reply
  • […] My Pet […]

    Like

    Reply
  • […] 5 Reasons I Love My Pet (from Fruitful Words) […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 751 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


