September Ends with a Gratitude List of Five

. at . 10 comments

Friday’s Fave Five (FFF) meme is making the rounds again. I looked at my past week and wrote down five things for which I am grateful. I linked up to Susanne at Living to Tell the Story’s FFF # 159.

1. I am grateful for caring about gardening again. Since I broke my shoulder on April 16, 2011, I have not cared about gardening: planning, buying, or caring for the plants. However this last Friday I did all the aforementioned and enjoyed it. My shady patio planter boxes are now full of pink and red begonias, and buttercup yellow and light purple pansies.

2. I am grateful for colour in surprising places. Go here to see. Do you know what the pictures are? Once I get 10 comments/guesses, I will update the post with the answers.

3. I am grateful that I am beginning to let go of my past. This past week I was able to declutter 50 books from my personal library. (I still have many hundreds of books left.) A majority of the books were from our homeschooling days which ended 10 years ago. My kiddos did not want the books and I do not need them.

4. I am grateful for books. I am part of Callapidder’s Fall into Reading Challenge. This past week I finished reading 3 books: The Hiding Place, What Women Fear and 101 Ways to Have a Christian Christmas. I’d like to say reviews are forthcoming, but I am not always good at writing those. I really recommend the first two books. (My full reading list is here.)

5. I am grateful for my phone charger. I lose things.  I.e I have been without the charger to my kindle for several months. A blog-/irl-buddy lent me her kindle charger on Monday. Last night as I was plugging in my cell phone, I noticed it had the same end-piece as the kindle charger. Wahoo – it was a match. Until I find my kindle charge, my phone charger can do the job!

Your Turn . . . What makes your gratitude list this week? Write a post and link up with this Friday’s meme. If you don’t have a blog, leave a comment here or on Facebook.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF). Tags: .

What is this? The Holidays are Upon Us

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hazel  |  . at .

    A week that involves books is a great week. Glad you are gardening again.

    -Hazel

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Susanne  |  . at .

    LOL, I have no idea what those are but I’m going to guess some kind of kiwi fruit or dragon fruit?

    Wow, you’re really zipping through your reading list. I have never read Hiding Place. I’ll have to get that on a future list. Good for you for clearing out unwanted books. That’s always a hard thing for me. Books is what I tend to really hang onto.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Lisa notes...  |  . at .

    Your planter boxes sound lovely. I’ve actually enjoyed the flowers in the pots on my deck this year more than flowers in the ground. (And they’re easier to take care of!)

    Oh, # 3 is getting close to home. This is my last year of homeschooling, and I’m already feeling torn about having to get rid of so many books that have been my “friends” for so many years. But I do hope I will be able to when the time comes.

    I’m glad you recommend What Women Fear. I need to start reading it since the book club is about to start at (in)courage. I love The Hiding Place, even though it always makes me shudder at all the things they went through.

    So a phone charger can substitute as a Kindle charger! Never would have guessed, but that’s good to know (that is, if mine would be compatible). I use my husband’s phone charger to charge our GPS since we lost that charger. Too many chargers! ha. I’m reading for a universal one that fits everything.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Gillian  |  . at .

    You will have to post pictures of your planters Susan, they sound lovely.

    Wish I could join in with your guessing game, but of course I already know the answers, hee hee!

    I keep hearing ‘The Hiding Place’ mentioned lately. It’s making me want to read it again – It has been years since I read it last.

    What kind of phone do you have? It can’t be an iphone, because that charger is too big to fit into that teeny little hole on the Kindle. Glad it works though! I may need my charger back soon as I’ve been ordering books from the library for my Kindle – mostly cookbooks of course!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Ellen  |  . at .

    Glad you were able to work on those planters and now you are enjoying the results! A charger that works on both the phone and kindle is great. Decluttering is so refreshing. Have a great weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Brenda  |  . at .

    I’d be interested to read what you have to say about the Christmas book.

    So glad you are able to do things you enjoy again.

    I have to say, I have NO idea what those pictures are! But I am curious to know. . . .

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Karyn  |  . at .

    Getting rid of books would be hard for me – no matter how much I needed to let go of my past. I have a whole 15 ft wall full of homeschooling material – one of my DIL’s uses some of the books, my other kids have not begun homeschooling yet – I guess if no one wants the books I’ll eventually have to get rid of them. *heavy sigh* I admire you for being able to let yours go.

    Glad you can enjoy gardening again!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Laura  |  . at .

    GREAT that you’re enjoying gardening again!

    Oh, I have trouble getting rid of books…a real flaw of mine. I’d be interested in how you liked the Christmas book. I’d love to join in, but I’m so busy at school that I barely have time to read for fun. Just a tad in the evening.

    Have a great week!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Willow  |  . at .

    I would love your flower pots! I’m glad you’re back in the gardening groove.
    Hurray for passing those homeschooling books on to someone who will use them!

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Jerri  |  . at .

    Well, I’m late getting around to reading everyone’s Fave Five, so you have already posted the answer to your colorful question. It’s a good thing, because I would never have guessed a watermelon radish!

    Chargers are tough to keep up with. I have not been able to keep a car charger for my cell phone in the last 6 years! Hooray that the same charger works for both your cell and your kindle.

    P.S. I want to see pictures of your flower boxes, too!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
4 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 752 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


