Another Week of Sensory Gratitude

. at . 22 comments

A new month and a new season are upon us and bring with them new sensory delights. Below are five such delights from my past week that have earned my gratitude. If you’d like to share some delights, leave a comment or link your post to Friday’s Fave Five.

1 The sight of – 2 wedding-clothed couples at 2 different venues on the same day (October 1st) exchanging vows and promises to cherish, nurture, and protect their newly formed union – forever. Tears of joy were shed and prayers of blessing were said for both couples (one groom was my brother).

2 The sound of – the dramatized version of I Corinthians 13 (2 minutes 1 second). I am memorizing this chapter. In addition to reading it and writing it, I am also listening to it. These three techniques are helping me to thoroughly memorize these verses. At the Biblegateway.com website, Scripture is read by 12 different people in 7 different English versions.

3 The smell of – pumpkin spice wax melts. The delicious smells of pumpkin, nutmeg and cinnamon fill the whole office. I bought these candle squares at the Dollar Store. I will see if they last as long as their name brand counterpart.

4 The taste of – Liquid Fall in a harvest soup. The produce was gathered from a friend’s garden: zucchini, crookneck squash, tomatoes and pears simmered in chicken soup with diced potatoes, carmelized onions and garlic. I blended it with milk to transform it into creamy goodness.

Then I topped the soup with sour cream, paprika and dill. Yumminess. Who knew pears and veggies make great soup partners?

I am into soup this week. If you are too, read my post 7 Reasons to Eat Soup.

Hat Tip to Island Sparrow. I was inspired by the recipe she shared in last week’s FFF. 

5 The touch of – expert hands uncurling and easing cramped, painful muscles of the shins and calves into a relaxed position. Who said it was a good idea to walk 3.5 hours last Sunday for the Relay For life Walk? If I ever sign up again for an extended walk, I will make sure I train first. However, thanks to LaRee’s coordination, our team turned in $500.00.

NOTE: To those of you who left a guess/comment on my two mystery photos here, the answers are  watermelon radish and coloured soap scum from a too expensive car wash.

Your Turn . . . What is a sensory expereince that brings out your gratitude?

Related Post . . . Using Senses to Experience Blessings Heightens the Gratitude

Hat Tip to Silly Doodah for the format idea of this post.

 

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Main. Tags: .

The Holidays are Upon Us Fall Harvest Soup

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. karen  |  . at .

    Great idea, ‘sensory’ gratitude.

    And that soup sounds delicious.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ellen  |  . at .

    What a great sensory week you had! The soup looks perfect for a fall evening. Hope your weekend is good!

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      I usually don’t realize until Thursday night how blessed my past week was. Preparing for the FFF sure reminds me of how good I have it!

      Since this soup was so tasty, I am on a hunt for other easy soup recipes too. I noticed that you have a recipe for Hamburger soup. I am going shopping today for the ingredients, Ellen.

      Like

  • 5. Carrie, Reading to Know  |  . at .

    Oh, that fall harvest soup looks delicious!

    And congratulations to your brother!

    Happy weekend to you!

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks, Carrie. It was a fun time to celebrate with my brother especially since we haven’t seen each other in awhile.

      I came across your review of Dumpling Soup. I am going to pick that up from the library this week. You are right, the author, Jama Rattigan, has a lovely blog. I am enjoying her posts.

      I am checking people’s blogs for soup recipes and references. Just a fun phase I am going through.

      Like

  • 7. Laura  |  . at .

    How was your soup get-together? Sounds great to me. I love soup!

    Have a great week ahead!

    Like

    Reply
    • 8. susan2009  |  . at .

      Laura, the soup get-together was great. We had 4 kinds of soup, an assortment of bread, chips and salsa, and tea/water. I made Turtles for dessert. Great food and even better company.

      We have one more potluck before the year is out. Next time it will be Mexican food and we will have a speaker.

      This time we played Cranium. My partner and I rocked the game! This is kind of amazing since she’s not good at remembering names and I’m not good at knowing modern culture. . . . . . (Sorry, I’ve never seen the movie Halloween or never even heard of it before.) . . . . . . But Cheryl knows random words like Intarsia and I can pose people like traffic cops.

      Like

  • 9. Elizabeth  |  . at .

    I just made ginger-butternut squash biscuits. super simple and they r all gone. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 10. susan2009  |  . at .

      They sound delish, Elizabeth! You always make such tasty things. Did you use a Pamela’s baking mix or are these from scratch?

      Like

  • 11. Melanie - As Real as It Gets  |  . at .

    Love your five faves!! Especially the Fall treats part : )

    Like

    Reply
  • 13. Jan  |  . at .

    So nice! Thanks for the good wishes over at my blog!

    Like

    Reply
    • 14. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hi Jan,
      Thanks. Well you have an exciting trip coming up. I look forward to photos and news from your trip to Russia.

      Like

  • 15. Brenda  |  . at .

    I too am enjoying the smells of pumpkin and cinnamon at this time of year. So cozy!

    I made a cream of broccoli soup this week, it just seems like right thing for fall 🙂 (even if our weather is not quite cool yet)

    Like

    Reply
    • 16. susan2009  |  . at .

      Yumm on the broccoli soup,Brenda. Creamed soups are my favourite kind, although I don’t normally add cream or milk to mine. they taste just as good.

      Our cold weather will be here soon enough, eh?

      Like

  • 17. Gattina  |  . at .

    It’s a pity that I don’t like soups in general, because yours looks really yummy !

    Like

    Reply
    • 18. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks, Gattina. You are missing out! 🙂

      Like

  • 19. Susanne  |  . at .

    I am checking into that link for listening to the bible. What a smart way you have learning to memorize scripture.

    I love, love, love soup. And yours made my mouth water. How creative and delicious.

    Like

    Reply
    • 20. susan2009  |  . at .

      Well, it is because of FFF that I even got the idea to make this soup. So a big thanks is due to you, Susanne.

      I hope the audio Bible helps you like it has me.

      Like

  • 21. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    That soup sounds really great! It looks very fall harvest, too. Congrats to your brother! So glad we have so many resources for Scripture.

    Like

    Reply
    • 22. susan2009  |  . at .

      Too bad all the soup is gone. I will definitely make it again.
      I look forward to visiting my brother and seeing the photos of his wedding.
      We certainly live in a technology-rich time, don’t we, Nikki.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
9 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 730 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


