5 November Blessings

. at . 11 comments

Last week had some frustrations (mainly due to the bathroom remodel). But it had even more blessings. If you’d like to share your highlights, go to this link at Susanne’s blog.

Below are 5 of my highlights. 

1. Attended the Priscilla Shirer conference with 8 ladies from my church. Priscilla was amazing. Her message was clear, relatable, and encouraging. The worship was encouraging as well and made all the more special because of the hundreds of women singing together. Spending time with CNC gals was the icing on the cake.

2. Celebrated Halloween. I dressed up at work mainly because the director of our memory loss respite program lent me several items to dress as a cowgirl. How could I resist that? We had 2 groups of daycare kiddos and the Respite adults Trick-or-Treat at our office.  (I have never dressed up for Halloween as an adult before this year.)

That night I Trick-or-Treated (minus the costume) with my 10-year-old niece (and her parents). It was fun to see folks we knew, talk, and even get a few pieces of candy along with the kids.

3. Received 2 cards in the mail. Just because. I am writing a letter of gratitude each day this month, so getting these cards was super cool and meaningful.

4. Won a book written by Laura Lee Groves from Outnumbered Mom. I am looking forward to reading her book to glean ideas, encouragement, and inspiration I can personally use and also share with other moms. Then I will give the book to a mom who has children in the home now.

5. Had an awesome last class (until January) with the 66 Love Letters Ladies. We have a potluck the first Wednesday of every month. This time it was a Baked Potato Bar. Since we finished our coursework last week, the 2 groups combined and dined and talked the whole time.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Main. Tags: , .

How Good Books Aid in a Child’s Growth Home-Made Cool Whip

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hazel  |  . at .

    Giving a book to another mom after reading sounds like a great, cute idea. You look great in your cowgirl costume. “Love Letter Ladies” how charming! And with cards in the mail and a successful conference, what a very good week you had.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. karen  |  . at .

    I love the idea of your Letter of Gratitude. That is just wonderful. And how nice to get some “real mail” in the process.

    It’s been years since I dressed up for Halloween, but it was always one of my favorite things to do.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Jerri  |  . at .

    Oh, I’ve always wanted to go to a Priscilla Shirer conference! I’m glad you enjoyed it so.

    I like the idea of “Love Letter Ladies!”

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Blessedmama  |  . at .

    Love the costume, Susan! Oh, I’m so glad you finally had a chance to dress up as an adult. Next year we could go as Siamese twins, ha ha!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Laura  |  . at .

    Susan, I’m so glad you won my book! Sending you an email about when I’ll get it sent is on my list of things to do this weekend. I do hope you enjoy it.

    Love the letter of gratitude each day…how neat. And to get mail! Have a great week ahead!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Tiffany  |  . at .

    Sounds like you had a pretty good week. Love you costume! Your letters of gratitude idea is great. I may have to borrow it. 🙂 Have a great weekend.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Ellen  |  . at .

    Sounds like a wonderful week Susan despite being in the middle of a remodel. Love the cowgirl costume! We have so much fun on Halloween around here just seeing all the cute trick or treaters! Have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Faith  |  . at .

    We don’t “celebrate” Halloween but your costume looks fun! how awesome that you enjoyed a meal with your small group friends…I love doing life with my small group study friends….it’s so important as busy women to cultivate our friendships! and I LOVE Laura’s blog!! Glad you have her book….a friend of mine who’s in my study group has her book and enjoys it. I have girls so didn’t bother getting her book….but I highly recommend it to all the moms of boys I know 🙂
    havea great weekend!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Susanne  |  . at .

    I have heard such great things about Laura’s book. I’m sure you will get lots out of it. It’s always fun to win a book.

    How fun that you recieved 2 cards via the “real” mail. Since email and texting, I really miss getting those.

    Like

    Reply
  • You looked great in your costume! I read and reviewed Laura’s book, and loved it. Especially since I’m surrounded by boys. 🙂
    I love that you received cards in the midst of your own writing exercise. Getting “real” mail is such a treat!

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Brenda  |  . at .

    You look great as a cowgirl!

    I’ll look forward to a book review on the book you won.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
8 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


