Five Favourite Blessings from Mid-December

. at . 12 comments

I’m busy like everyone else this season. But I’m not too busy to think about and pen 5 things that made my “Blessing List.” Go here to post your own list. Or leave a blessing or 5 in the comments.

1. Attending the ribbon cutting ceremony for a new neighborhood sign. The city where I live is making a huge effort to build strong neighbourhoods. People like Ryan Lundquist and Ken Cooley are supporters of that effort.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2. Putting handmade ornaments on the church Christmas tree (these are ones the preschoolers made). Anything made by preschoolers is so cute. They always thoroughly enjoy the process. I want to be more like that in various areas of my life and not worry so much about the end product.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
3. Liking a change that Facebook made. I like the new Timeline. I like the photo that is in my banner because it reminds me of my trip to New Zealand last March. I was being silly when this was taken by my dear friend, Trish.
Public bathroom (HUGE) with gorgeous tile in New Zealand
 
 
 
4. Passing out “Hot Chocolate in a Jar Kits” as a thank you to 2011 children’s ministry volunteers. Jessica (director of nursery) and I made 60 pint size “kits.” We had a fun time making these together. I always enjoy her company.  Thanks to her husband for smashing all the candy canes! 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
5. Making my own Christmas tree. My one room apartment is too small for the typical floor tree. If I moved furniture to the garage I could have one. Too much work. Instead I made a 2 foot tree out of twigs. Go here to See the Post with the directions and more pictures.
Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF). Tags: .

Pay It Forward – New Theme for the 12 Days of Christmas Christmas Movies I Watched in 2011

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa notes  |  . at .

    I love your attitude on #2–not worry so much about the end product. I need to adopt more of that in my life too.

    That is a big bathroom in New Zealand. Aren’t pictures wonderful to jog our memories?

    Your tree is adorable!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. karyn  |  . at .

    I love homemade ornaments – especially the ones made by the kids. YOur tree is very cute. I like the way it bends at the top – makes me think of Dr. Sueuss’s “Whoville”.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. lynette  |  . at .

    I just love your twiggy tree!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Mama Manuscripts  |  . at .

    I love your twiggy tree. It’s fantastic and whimsical.

    I haven’t seen the new pages on facebook. It hasn’t switched over for me, yet. I’ve been looking forward to it.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Willow  |  . at .

    Love your tree!

    Did you sample adequately the hot chocolate kits? That would be an important part of making the kits, I think.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. claudiawjohnson  |  . at .

    I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Check it out:
    http://braincaviar.wordpress.com/2011/12/17/day-351-congratulations-to-you-versatile-bloggers/

    Like

    Reply
    • 7. susan2009  |  . at .

      Wow! Thanks, I am honoured, Claudia. So it looks like there are perks to not having a niche blog. 😉

      Like

    • 8. claudiawjohnson  |  . at .

      Merry Christmas, Susan. I’ll be very happily finishing up BrainCaviar on December 31st. This has been a fun but challenging 365 PostaDay Challenge!

      Like

  • 9. Laura  |  . at .

    LOVE your tree! You must tell us how to make those hot chocolate kits!! I ran across some preschool ornaments my boys made years ago and they went right on the tree with much reminiscing! Love them.

    Have a great week ahead.

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Brenda  |  . at .

    I love your little Christmas tree. There have been times in our lives when we could not have a full size tree, but we always enjoyed whatever we had, big or small, each tree is special.

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. blessedmama3  |  . at .

    Oh, Susan, I love your five! Thank you again for the hot chocolate gift. The marshmallows were gone in two days, and the chocolate mix only has about one or two servings left! I love, love, love your tree – you are so creative.

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    Your tree is totally cute! My cats would love it, though not quite in the same way I love it 🙂 You’re right about preschool ornaments. How nice to have a neighborhood that wants to build community.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
9 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 730 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


