Fall Into Reading 2011 Wrap Up

. at . 3 comments

Fall is over and so is the Fall Into Reading Challenge 2011. I intended to read 10 books in the 4 categories of Autobiography/Biography, Children, Growth and Holiday Inspired. I read 6 of the books.

Below is my wrap up from this challenge that Callapidder Days hosted.

1.  Did you finish reading all the books on your fall reading list? If not, why not?

Autobiography/Biography Books. 1/2

  • Mother Teresa’s Secret Fire by Joseph Langford.  I am half way through the book written about Mother Teresa. I hate to say this, but I cannot stay engaged with the story. Not because of her story, but because of how it was written.
  • The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom. This was as inspiring as I remembered. Now I want to find the movie and watch it.

Children’s Books. 1/2.  Finished 2nd book July 2013: 2/2

Growth Books 2/4. Finished 3rd book July 2013:3/4

Holiday Inspired Books. 2/2
2.  Did you stick to your original goals or did you change your list as you went along?  I originally had a list of 7 books to read from my own book shelves. I added one more and after reading some of the other lists, I added 2 books (which I read). But I see that I was more ambitious than I had time for. Unfortunately I had several books going at the same time. I see that was a distraction for me. And I think hindered me in accomplishing my reading goals.
3.  What was your favorite book that you read this fall?
Favourite book is hard to pick. The Hiding Place was inspirational. What Women Fear will be great book to reread and discuss with others.
Least favorite? Why? 101 Ways to Have a Christian Christmas by Brenda Verner.  It was my least favourite because I didn’t come across many new ideas to try (maybe 2).
4.  Did you discover a new author or genre this fall? Did you love them? Not love them? Nope. Most likely because I didn’t put a lot of time into this challenge.
5.  Did you learn something new because of Fall Into Reading 2011 – something about reading, about yourself, or about a topic you read about? I miss reading just because. For the past several decades I’ve read for information or growth (for homeschooling or for work). Reading The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and The Island of the Blue Dolphins was fun reading. I felt a little guilty spending time on just fun reading.
6.  What was your favorite thing about the challenge? My favourite thing is that it gave me “permission” to read some books just for fun and to read books from my own bookshelves. I don’t think I would have read them were it not for this challenge.
I look forward to the next reading challenge. Maybe I’ll even be more adventuresome with my choices. Here’s a HUGE thanks to Callapidder Days for this reading challenge.
Entry filed under: Books, Main. Tags: , .

Telling 7 Random Things About Myself (2011) B/C of Receiving The Versatile Blogger Award Winter Bucket List

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
12 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 640 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


