Skating is Off My Winter Bucket List

. at . Leave a comment

I fulfilled one of my Winter Bucket List items this week. I went to the temporary ice skating rink in my city and took some photos. It is part of our history; this is the first outdoor rink here.

I still have another day or two before they take it all down. I hope to catch a ride on the Ferris Wheel before then.

I entertained  fleeting thoughts of joining the youngsters on the ice. But when I saw how slippery it was and remembered how hard the ice is, I decided against strapping on the skates. I did not want to end up looking like this again. (#5 at this post.)

I learned how to ice skate when I was 7 when we lived in Anchorage, Alaska. In the winter, we’d ice skate at recess. I had skating lessons for a while. Being a dare-devil and stubborn helped me learn quickly.

I also learned, rather quickly, NOT to lick the frozen tether ball pole. Just because it looks like a popsicle does not mean it acts like one!

I never progressed passed some fancy footwork and skating backwards. Even then I had to concentrate on what I was doing. My skate toe picks would catch on the ice and I’d tumble. Back then girls did not wear hockey skates.

I could never multi-task like the girl on the left is doing. During my 15 minute stay she texted at least 5 times. I saw another young girl doing the same.

We don’t have to worry about Big Brother watching our every move. Cell phones do that just fine with their easy access to posting texts and photos to other phones and social media outlets like Facebook.

I love the social aspect of skating: Crack-the-whip, chase, couple skate, line-skating. Or even holding hands just because you need the steadying influence (real or pretend) is a great reason to skate. 😉

I am getting stronger and healthier this year. I have a goal to step out on the ice come December. I want to feel the wind on my face as I glide around the rink – backwards.

And if you have a camera phone and want to photograph that moment – I say, bring it on!

That’s a moment I’d like to record – before I trip on the toe picks.

Your Turn . . . 

  1. When was the last time you ice skated?
  2. Would you join me on the rink in December? Why or why not?
  3. Could you, would you text while skating?
Related Posts  . . . 
My Winter Bucket List
5 Reasons I Love Winter
Entry filed under: Main. Tags: , , .

5 Blessings for Friday’s Fave Five A Blue Ribbon Cookie Recipe: Orange Dark Chocolate Chip

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
6 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 740 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


