blessings amist grief

. at . 14 comments

My daughter, Elizabeth, & I took Chip on many of our field trips in the Bay Area. We are at Pier 39 in this photo.

Last Sunday (1.29.12) was the last day that Chip, my nearly 20 year-old-dog, breathed. I have been with my little buddy for 14 years. He was with my mom for 4 years. His spot in my heart and place in my life will not be easily filled. But in looking back at last week, there have been some blessings.
1. I am grateful for friends who’ve listened to me talk about my guilt regarding Chip.They didn’t try to talk me out of my feelings. But after I spoke the words, they helped me to see what was true in this situation. Their prayers and empathy (they’ve been in a similar situation) helped ease my shattered heart.

My daughter and I took Chip to the movies in this purse. We didn't take a photo that day, but recreated the "crime" at the photo shoot

2. I’m grateful for the pictures from a photo shoot my sister did a couple of years ago with Chip, Elizabeth, and I. They show a strong, happy, engaging dog. There were even some good photos of me. (I am not the most of photogenic people, but my sister has a knack for getting a good one or two of me.)

Doesn't Chip look happy, alert, and healthy? I am grateful for photos that remind me of this.

3. I received sympathy socks! I am always in need of socks and so this was an awesome and practical grief gift! Would you think it weird to get such a sympathy “card”?

4. My kiddos came to be with Chip and I for his last day. The decision to euthanize him was truly a family decision. Chip always loved it when his “pack” was all there. So even though he was dazed because of being on a narcotic, I think he realized we were all there for him up to the end. Afterwards we bought and planted daffodils and shared a meal together.

My son, Tim, ate a burger in Chip's honour. I did too. Then my kids and I had a McDonald's ice cream cone in Chip's honour. Both foods were some of Chip's favourite foods. See #4.

5. I have received lots of support via email, Facebook, phone calls, cards, and in person. And many of these folks are praying! I know that along with their affection, the prayer is making a huge difference in this situation.

Your Turn . . . Share some of your blessings in the comments or link up your post to Susanne’s Friday’s Fave Five.

Related Posts . . . Grief Table of Contents

Entry filed under: Main.

grief has a face, mine, because of chip Grief Table of Contents

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Urailak @Living for God  |  . at .

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Thanks for sharing these precious photos and memories with us. Chip was blessed to be so loved by your family. He was such an adorable dog. Hugs and prayers.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Faith  |  . at .

    Oh, I’m so sorry to hear about your beloved pet. although we are not pet owners, Dave and I have many friends, including family, who have either had to make the decision you did or just lost their pet…..they all say it is just like a member of the family! Hugs to you and yay for grief socks….I think that’s a thoughtful gift!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Mo (Inside Mo's Mind)  |  . at .

    I’m sorry to hear of your loss…20 years is a nice, long life tho, and I’m sure Chip knew how loved and blessed he was! It’s so hard, I know, and I would like to tell you the pain goes away, but it doesn’t. It does get easier with time tho, and all those thoughts will bring smiles instead of tears.. (((hugs))) to you.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Sillydoodah (Dawn)  |  . at .

    I’m so glad your kids came to be with you! This is just like any other loss, so it is good for family to gather round. LOVE the sympathy socks! Something warm, soft, and snuggly is just the thing. Still praying for you, friend.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Denise Drake  |  . at .

    Those pictures are so cute! Dogs are such amazing creatures.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Shannon  |  . at .

    So sorry you lost your little buddy! He is loving you from “a better place” and anxiously awaiting his chance to hug you again.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Kathie  |  . at .

    So sorry for the loss of your little dog. He looks like a sweet little fellow. I know he will be sorely missed.

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Willow  |  . at .

    Oh I’m so sorry about your losing Chip. It’s hard. I’m glad your kids were there to love and comfort you and each other. Love the idea of the burger and cones in Chip’s honor. And the sympathy socks 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    I’m so sorry. Our dog passed away in December. We were on the verge of wondering if we should start to think about putting her to sleep. We’d had her 14 years.

    Chip looks like a bright happy dog. I’m so glad you are surrounded by support at this time of grief.

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. karyn  |  . at .

    Glad you could find blessing in the midst of such a hard week. It is hard to lose a pet – especially one who has been part of your life for so long. What a cute little guy! Glad you have so many good photos of him when he was strong and happy.

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Hope  |  . at .

    I understand your grief and so sorry you had to go through it. I had a wonderful little poodle that looked much like your Chip. They are so hard to lose. I hope another one is in your future soon. It really helps ease the pain. May God bless you and continue to heal your heart.

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. Susanne  |  . at .

    I am so sorry! I can totally understand and relate as we lost our beloved “Samson” a little more than a year ago and went through what you are. They certainly become a huge part of life and love. Big hugs to you and know I’m saying a prayer as you go through your days without him.

    Like

    Reply
  • 13. Brenda  |  . at .

    I love the way you honored the memory of Chip in so many special ways, it soothes me just to hear about your journey.

    And I love the idea of sympathy socks, what a wonderful comforting gesture!

    Like

    Reply
  • 14. Gattina  |  . at .

    That’s an amazing age for a dog and it must be very hard for you now ! It hurts so much when a beloved pet dies. I know this with 2 cats who also left me after 20 years !

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
9 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 728 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


