grief has a face, mine, because of chip

. at . 3 comments

On Sunday, January 29, 2012, Chip, my nearly 20-year-old pup, breathed his last.  This was my mom’s birthday. Chip was her dog first so, this was a fitting day for them to be reunited. ( I hope dogs go to heaven.)        

Chip had been declining over the past 3 weeks. He did not want to drink or walk (painful, weak hips). Even eating was a struggle with him boycotting  his favourite foods like chicken, MacDonald’s hamburger, cottage cheese, or  scrambled eggs. Several times Chip didn’t even want me to hold him.

The choice to euthanize him was difficult, but the right one to make. Chip was a fighter to the very end.

My heart is broken. I miss him so much.

I want to remember Chip like this. Thanks, my little man, for all the love and joy you gave.

NOTE: This is the 6th photo in my series, A Winter of Self PortraitsWhen I was brainstorming a list of items for my Winter Bucket List, I came up with the idea of taking 12 self-portraits.

Related Posts . . .

Entry filed under: Main. Tags: .

Rest in Peace, My Precious Pup blessings amist grief

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debora  |  . at .

    Love the pictures Susan, Thank You for sharing Chip with us.


  • 2. Jenny Arnez  |  . at .

    I’m so sorry. I was just thinking how it much feel so lonely without him greeting you when arrive home. =(

  • 3. Rima  |  . at .

    Susan, I am so sorry for your loss. Chip seems like he was an extra special pet. I saw a dog being walked in the park this evening wearing a Christmasy sweater (like Chip’s) and thought of Chip. I liked being FB friends with him. :) The pics of you and Chip are great–what sweet memories.

    I’m glad your little man gave you many years of joy. :)


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

57 Thing To Do During my 57th Year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2016
3 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

