I am Creative . . .

. at . 2 comments

I am quite pleased with the painting on the owl. It started out as an accident which I liked so much, I then purposefully copied. I think the googly eyes add life to the owl.

. . . and getting more so.

I am not usually an original creator. I tend to follow directions closely. But I am learning that putting my own twist on things is okay and can even be quite satisfying.

Here are our 2 owls after being baked and before being painted. I love how Emily personalized her owl (right side). It has more character than mine.

I recently re-learned this lesson from my niece Emily. We made owls together earlier this week. She made one for her sister’s 16th birthday. Mine went to Elizabeth, my daughter, an awesomely creative person.

Emily is not afraid to put her own touches on any project that we do. She doesn’t need my “permission” or acceptance in order for her art to be okay.

Emily is mimicking her owl's expression.

The original idea for the clay owl came from this post at 4 Crazy Kings. She used Model Magic. We used Sculpey clay.

Learning to be Creative

In early January I sewed a wine tote. I did put my own creative touch when it came to embellishments.

I hot-glued the big buttons onto the bottom of the handles and hot-glue oozed out. I couldn’t get the glue off so I put twine stitchery circling the buttons and onto the handle. I quite like how it turned out. Those happy mistakes are quite happy!

NOTE: This is the 8th photo in my series, A Winter of Self PortraitsWhen I was brainstorming a list of items for my Winter Bucket List, I came up with the idea of taking 12 self-portraits.

Related Posts . . . 

Entry filed under: Main. Tags: .

Tote Pattern Giveaway Regret Over the Closed Door

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  . at .

    I love this!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks, Kate. It was a lot of fun and we both are happy with how the owls turned out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 751 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


