I am 54

. at . 2 comments

I turned 54 this week. (See #2 at this post.) There are no songs extolling the virtues of my age (Like Sixteen Candles).

There are no cool quotes about my age: “On our 21st birthday, we don’t care what the world thinks of us; on our 30th, we worry about what it is thinking of us; on our 40th, we discover that it wasn’t thinking of us at all.” -Anonymous

54 is not a dividing age between single digits and double, between youth and adult, or between adult and OLD.

It just is. HOWEVER . . .

I share my birthday with these three gents: Mitt Romney, James Taylor, and Daryl Strawberry.

Here are some interesting birthday facts . . . 

  • March 12, 0515 BC – Construction is completed on the Second Temple in Jerusalem.
  • March 12, 1884 Mississippi establishes first US state college for women
  • March 12, 1912 Girl Guides (Girl Scouts) founded in Savannah, by Juliette Gordon Low [I’ve always loved that my birthday and the Girl Scout birthday was the same day.]
  • March 12, 1959 US House joins Senate approving Hawaii statehood [Next to CA, this is my favourite state.]
  • March 12, 1986 Susan Butcher wins 1,158 mile Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race [Going on a dogsled is on my Winter 2012 Bucket List.]

These are some generic birthday quotes I like . . .

The way I see it, you should live everyday like its your birthday. Paris Hilton [Basking in the love and friendship of others]

If you look over the years, the styles have changed – the clothes, the hair, the production, the approach to the songs. The icing to the cake has changed flavors. But if you really look at the cake itself, it’s really the same. John Oates [Unless you make a picaken like my friend Doodah did this week.]

God gave us the gift of life; it is up to us to give ourselves the gift of living well. Voltaire [Similarly John Mason said, “You were born an original, don’t die a copy.”]

Every year on your birthday, you get a chance to start new. Sammy Hagar [And with this new start means you can write lists of how the next year will be different, better, more fun, and full of accomplishments!]


Entry filed under: Main.

Theological Bucket List Blessings From Mid March

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. claudiawjohnson  |  . at .

    Happy 54! I hope you are well these days. I’m travelling to the States in June but don’t expect to be in California. Let me know if you are in the Alabama area.

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      I hope you have a great vacation. Who knows what will happen in June. It would be great to meet you face-to-face, Claudia.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
4 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 752 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


